How to Guide For step by step “How to” instructions ONLY!

Interior: How-To remove door panels

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2006, 01:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How-To remove door panels

I want to take out my door panels and redo that section of fabric. I saw someone leave a post that there is a thread in the 'how to' on how to get the door panels off. Well I have searched and cant find it. So can anyone tell me how to get the door panels off!?
Old 03-27-2006, 02:00 PM

I would like to know this too because my passenger side door handle is loose and I would like to tighten it but can't get to it from the outside.
Old 03-28-2006, 06:24 PM

I wonder if you can take the silver trim off the door panel thats around the window button
Old 03-28-2006, 07:01 PM

ok, here's how you take off the door panels...I'm an autoglass tech, and have already replaced 5 cobalt door windows within the last 2 weeks.

Tools needed:
Pocket flathead screwdriver
Philips head screwdriver(or drill bit+drill)
Door panel tool (Easily purchased for a few bucks at Autozone/PepBoys)

1.) Using your small flatehead screwdriver, remove the plastic covers from A-behind the Chrome handle, B-inside the compartment on the armrest behind the switches. Doing this will reveal three(3) screws.

2.) Using your Philips head screwdriver/bit, remove the aforementioned three(3) screws.

3.)Using your door panel tool, CAREFULLY lift the silver switch panel up, STARTING with the side to the rear of the door(back of the car). This is held by a clip, not to hard to pry up. The reason you want to start at this point is because the front of the panel is a clip the slides under the lip, so you don't want to break it. Unplug switches.