ADVANCED Performance Modifications For advanced modification topics only.

Remote oil filter/cooler

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2009, 02:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Remote oil filter/cooler

Might not be much interest to most, but I got my remote oil cooler/ oil filler kit this week. Replaces the coolant cooled oil cooler and bypasses the filter for a spin on version. Kit was made by www.unique-fabricating.com for my Ariel Atom.

The adapter for the filter boss might be of interest to someone. has a port to attach the original oil pressure sensor and a separate one that is 1/8 npt to fit an autometer oil pressure sending unit.

Old 12-24-2009, 02:23 PM

looks nice and should help with lower engine temps. do you know how much more this increases your oil capacity??
Old 12-24-2009, 02:45 PM

I'd guess about an extra liter given the length of the lines and cooler. yep, one of the other benefits
Old 12-25-2009, 10:57 AM

So 6Ltrs total right? Sorry I'm kinda new to this stuff. I want to do all my best possible supporting mods for stg2 next month, and this looks like a positive cooling method. How are our S/C cooled?
Old 12-25-2009, 03:57 PM

the sc is cooled by a totally different cooling than system than the engine coolant, i believe it uses air to liquid cooling, the charged air passes over 4 "cores" which have fluid running through them and cools the IAT2 temp to prevent kr.
A front mount heat exchanger is usually recomended for a stage 2 setup, might as well grab you an option b also, i just installed mine the other day and it was a pain in the ass but the temps are def lower than without the unit.
not sure how many liters the car takes, i know it takes 6 quarts of oil normally.
Not sure where your going to mount that oil cooler radiator, but if you get fmhe it pretty much takes up the hole front end.
Old 12-25-2009, 05:03 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post