Autocross and Road Racing Road racing is not “street racing”

ssyellow's Autocross Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2014, 09:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
ssyellow's Autocross Build Thread

Hello all,

This section is pretty dead so I figured I would give a little log of my autocross adventures and modifications for anyone in the future to base their build off or come for info. I'm just getting into autocross coming from rally-x in a Subaru WRX so there will be a little learning curve.

Car:

2009 Cobalt SS with G85

- GMS1
- ZZP Cat-less downpipe
- Hahn 3" cat back exhaust
- Powell YYZ V.3 springs
- Powell XXX rear sway bar
- OEM pads/rotors/fluid
- 18 x 8" O.Z. Racing Ultraleggera wheels with 235/40/18 Direzza ZII's

by navarrenathan

Events so far:

1. School autocross

I placed 6th out of 62 cars while on my terrible tires (Fuzions, 380 treadware) the previous owner put on. This event took raw time from everyone and there were no classes.

2. NWORSCCA Toledo Express autocross

This was the first event with the Direzza's and I ended up placing first in SMF class. Extremely fast paced and perfect for the Cobalt with it's longer second gear. Still didn't have Powell's XXX bar at this point.

http://www.nworscca.com/attachments/...e2_results.htm

by navarrenathan

3. MSCC/DCSCC Schoolcraft event

This event was a rough one after coming from a heavy night out drinking with friends . Got third place in TDSP and 40th or so out of 102, would have came in 30th overall if my fun run scores would have counted. After everyone ran, course workers were able to do "fun runs" which were timed but didn't count towards your actual score. During this, I managed to get my time down to 43.9XX. Quite an improvement and I wish I could have pulled that out earlier. Powell's XXX bar came in the week after this so I still didn't have it.

4. Detroit SCCA Memorial Day SOLO