How to Guide For step by step “How to” instructions ONLY!

General Suspension: How To change Control Arm Bushings

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2010, 07:22 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
How To change Control Arm Bushings

This is just how i changed the rear control arm bushings. Do this at YOUR OWN RISK as im not a professional mechanic. I used intense racing control arm bushings.

Tools Needed

15mm, 16mm, and 21mm sockets and open ended wrenches

Breaker bar or Cheater bar

Small pry bar

Rubber Mallet

PB Blaster

Access to a Press

Removal

#1- Loosen the lug nuts and and raise vehicle place jackstands as needed

#2-Remove tire and loosen bolt that connects the Control arm to the steering nuckle found here. Size is 16mm you will want to socket one side and hold the nut on other.

#3- Being carful not to mess up the bushing or the boot above use a small pry bar and pry the bushings (nub) out of the nuckle

#4- Next remove the 3 bolts from the subframe 2 here. I believe these were 15mm.

and the last one here which is the rear control arm bushing. This was 21mm.

#5- You may need a cheater bar for the last step as it is not the easiest to unloosen. PB Blaster is a plus!

#6- After all bolts are removed wiggle the control arm out of place. I had to bend the metal plate below the rear bushing the help it out. You may not have to this is also helpful for the reinstall.

#7- Now press out the old rubber bushing and the thin metal around it. Then press in the new. I found that the old bushing could only come out one way. When pressing keep the nub that came out of the knuckle pointed up and press the bushing down. This may vary but im not sure this just what worked for me.

Here is the old crappy bushing that was worn out and was knocking around.

and the new in place

Reinstall

Reverse the order of removal.

#1- Place rear bushing into position and screw in. May need to bend that plate to help put them back in. 21mm

#2- Screw in other 2 subframe bolts. 15mm