How to Guide For step by step “How to” instructions ONLY!

Appearance: HOW TO: Mini H1 Retro install

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2012, 01:57 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
HOW TO: Mini H1 Retro install

So this is my first attempt at a how-to and I hope this helps anyone out that is in need of it.

First you will need Supplies:
Mini H1 projectors
9007 Adapter rings (not needed but recommended)
H1 HID Hit
H1 HID Bulbs
A 9007 Relay harness
A pair of Stock Headlights
Screwdriver (flat head & Phillips head)
T15 star bit screwdriver
Dremel or hacksaw (I used a hacksaw)
Pliers
Needle nose pliers
Epoxy
Oven

First, preset your oven to the lowest setting (mine was 225 degrees) and place each headlight in the oven separately for about 10 minutes. You will want to work on one light at a time at this stage. Be sure to use gloves while removing the headlight from the oven (ITS GOING TO BE HOT). Then use your flat head screwdriver to pry the clear lenses off the two headlights while the sealant is hot and easy to separate. Also try to avoid getting sealant on the chrome trim (it’s a pain the ass to get off later when its cooled down) Be careful not to break the 4 tabs holding the clear lenses on, you will have to use the screwdriver to pry them up while you are separating the lenses. After you get the clear lenses off you will have to remove the chrome trim in the headlight housing there are 3 star screws located on the back of the housing you must remove (use the T15 start bit for this) After all is said an done you will have 2 headlights that look like this: