How to Guide For step by step “How to” instructions ONLY!

Appearance: How to/Review: Plasti-Dip Evo Mod (Lots of Photos)

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2010, 09:59 PM

Received 171 Likes on 142 Posts
Just I thought I had to deal with taking off the tape at the right time:

If you take the tape off after the first coat dries, then you'll have to re-apply for the subsequent coats, which might be hard to do. So why not stick 3 or 4 layers of tape on top of each other, cut off with a razor blade to get one uniform edge, and then mask the bumper. That way you can peel off one layer of tape after each coat and have a clean edge? Just a thought, I'm far from a paint expert...

Black 2010 SS/TC – G85 |Debadged | GMS1 | Hahn 3” DP and Catback | AEM intake | GM racing pedals | OZ Ultraleggera rims |DEPO 4th gen projectors w/ 6K HIDs | smoked LED tails | 20% 3M tint |Pioneer Avic Z110bt head unit, Alpine PDX-5 amp, Focal speakers all around

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3835837
Old 10-10-2010, 10:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by colodude18
Just I thought I had to deal with taking off the tape at the right time:

If you take the tape off after the first coat dries, then you'll have to re-apply for the subsequent coats, which might be hard to do. So why not stick 3 or 4 layers of tape on top of each other, cut off with a razor blade to get one uniform edge, and then mask the bumper. That way you can peel off one layer of tape after each coat and have a clean edge? Just a thought, I'm far from a paint expert...
You only need 1 coat really. Just enough to get the panel covered. And you should still be able to give it a small flash time without effecting it. remember its rubberized. u dont need to build it up. and just a general guideline for applying paint is just apply enough to cover the panel completely. The more you build the more texture it will have. Texture is bad
Old 10-10-2010, 10:31 PM
Nothin Stock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts