Problems/Service/Maintenance Do you have problems with your new 2.0, 2.2, or 2.4L? What kind of service did you have done?

Just Bought a used SS, possible worn clutch?

Old 08-02-2009, 09:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just Bought a used SS, possible worn clutch?

I just bought a used '05 SS Supercharged, with 23K miles, this Saturday, and I've started noticing some things.

First off, its gotten progressively worse that while starting from a stop, the car lunges back and forth A LOT in first gear. I am by no means an expert with standard transmissions, but I have never been this bad, this consistently. The only way I can avoid this, is by using a lot of gas. More that I think is normal.

Also, after the above happens, I shift into 2nd gear and for the first 1000RPM or so the car hesitates. I would not call it a lunge, but I can definitely feel a hesitation. Or what I fear, the clutch slipping.

What does this sound like? Is it my imagination, do I really suck that much at shifting? Or is it a mechanical problem? Any other ways I can troubleshoot? I'm thinking of taking it to a dealer tomorrow and having them check it out. What a pain in the ass.
Old 08-02-2009, 09:32 PM

What RPM are you shifting at in each gear?
Old 08-02-2009, 09:34 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Let us know what they find out.
Old 08-02-2009, 09:34 PM

well i have an 07 ss/sc and my car does the same **** in 1st gear, but its normal cuz most of dem do dat in first gear
and for second gear it bogs for me but when i shift it round 3.5k-4k rpm its straight
Old 08-02-2009, 09:43 PM

ya check your top motor mount. mine does the same thing pretty bad, first gear in these cars sucks for everything...
solid mount up top and rotated mounts down low should fix alot of this. and the bogging in second is because your prob at a very low rpm, if the car is modified it could be in the tune also
Old 08-02-2009, 09:46 PM