Suspension Springs, Shocks, Brakes

Brake question

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2017, 12:56 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Brake question

So I was trying to have a spirited drive down a well known twisty road when some old man in a new craze hatch was having a Sunday drive down this road. So I would go ridiculously slow so I could get some distance and enjoy the bends. The thing is I have an 07 base model with no abs and I swapped out the rear drums to discs and I got the lab front brakes. So this guy decides he will be a dick and brake check me so I Slam the brakes and all I hear is screeching tires from me.

So I'm wondering if I did something wrong in the swap(had it for almost a year now) or if it was just the dry sandy patch of road that this dick chose to brake check coupled with me slamming the brakes. Noob question I know but I've been driving the car for 2 years and never encountered that. I'm also on winters as well.
Old 02-20-2017, 01:06 PM
Platinum Member

Received 584 Likes on 519 Posts
you dont have ABS, the wheels can lock up if you press them too hard and too fast
Old 02-20-2017, 01:32 PM

Received 263 Likes on 222 Posts
the important thing to note is what wheels locked up, front or rear. in a non abs brake system the fronts should lockup just before the rears do. if the rears lock up first you are at a higher risk of losing control

im not familiar with the rear disc swap, but is anything changed for proportioning when the swap is done? pressure/volume for a disc setup is different from a drum.
Old 02-20-2017, 02:11 PM

Received 128 Likes on 107 Posts
If it was the rears first, something is wrong in the proportioning.
Old 02-20-2017, 05:31 PM

Received 357 Likes on 318 Posts
I'm guessing it was definitely rears first. Like y'all have said without adjusting the proportioning the drum setup will have waaaayy to much clamping force in the rear relative to the old drums.
Old 02-20-2017, 06:19 PM
Platinum Member

Received 584 Likes on 519 Posts