Suspension Springs, Shocks, Brakes

The OFFICIAL Coilover Thread

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2015, 04:42 PM

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Swapped stock suspension for KSport Kontrol Pro Coilovers. NEED SOME HELP!

As my name suggests, I am a noob. However, please don't take my nooby knowledge for performance upgrades for granted to my stock part replacements. With that being said, if someone can either give me a link in the right direction to answer my question or answer it altogether would be much appreciated!

Ok, so. I am in the middle of replacing stock suspension for KSport Pros all around, front and rear.

I have finally removed one front strut, but, upon my removal endeavor I had to saw off the sway bar link as the bushing/bearing was spinning with the stud. So now I have purchased NEW sway bar links.... Here in lies my issue. First off, the links I have purchased are longer than the original ones and also skinnier. I triple checked part numbers and apparently that's what it calls for.

Second off, even if I reinstalled the junk stock struts, they wouldn't match up anyways.

So, can I safely drive my vehicle without the sway bar links installed? Is there aftermarket links that are adjustable to solve this issue? If anyone has KSport Pros, is the adjustable bracket they install between the spring perch and lower suspension mount used for the adjustable sway bar links?

If needed I can take pictures to illustrate the bracket. It basically just spins up or down the strut with a single hole, steel plate off of it.

IMHO, I have the sport 2.4l "LE5" cobalt and it seems it is the black sheep of the family. The parts are scarcer, in turn pricier, and finding knowledge on this specific platform is a bit of a pain. My purchase of the vehicle was to just be a daily driver, but I'm finding myself becoming attached to it more as it was grossly neglected by the previous owners.
The following users liked this post:
firestorm (04-10-2022)
Old 11-08-2015, 09:51 AM