Suspension Springs, Shocks, Brakes

Sring Spacers

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2016, 09:36 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Spring Spacers

Hi,

I have YYZ springs, which took my ride height down a bit, and the roads are really, really bad where I live. They get even worse in the winter. The roads have very deep ruts. Typically I try to drive on the yellow line to avoid them, but if a cars coming on the other side, then I have to drive more in the rut, and I bottom out, and now that it's cooling off outside I bottom out more, as the ruts become worse. I really need to fix this before I tear my exhaust off.... again... Or something else happens.

Does anyone have any details on spacers that would work for a SS/TC? That would work for sure that is.

Thanks

Last edited by nutty21; 11-16-2016 at 02:49 PM.
Old 11-16-2016, 09:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Why don't you go back to stock? I've seen some universal spacers that fit between the coils of springs, but as an engineer I highly suggest not using them as they can cause additional stresses on the coils and may even cause premature failure. The other option would be coilovers and set them up at their highest setting.
Old 11-16-2016, 11:30 AM

Originally Posted by Jlkm
Why don't you go back to stock?
Because I bought and paid for YYZ springs, and they're better.

I've seen some universal spacers that fit between the coils of springs, but as an engineer I highly suggest not using them as they can cause additional stresses on the coils and may even cause premature failure.
I seen lots of those, and that's the prob. Lots made by the same company, all slightly diff in some way, so that's why I'm asking if anyone knows any that would work for sure. Also, I can't see it adding stress, as I am trying to make up for the height I lost. It'd be nice to go up half an inch from stock to be honest, as I was hitting in places even at stock. Maybe just half an inch above stock in the rear would be perfect.