2.2L L61 Performance Tech 16 valve 145 hp EcoTec with 155 lb-ft of torque

L61 Turbo/Super (forced induction) Information Thread

Old 09-05-2006, 05:45 PM
  #51  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 10-08-05
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,759
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
can the auto transmission hold the 250 as well or only manual? because my focus can only hold up to like 170 torque or something before it falls out.
nomoreavril is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 11:26 PM
  #52  
Member
 
Join Date: 08-05-06
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 238
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by nomoreavril
can the auto transmission hold the 250 as well or only manual? because my focus can only hold up to like 170 torque or something before it falls out.

i am not sure the exact specs but i do know that the auto trans will not hold that kind of power and if for some odd reason it does i would imagine not for long ill reply with more once i research it a little further
redcobizzylt is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 11:40 PM
  #53  
Senior Member
 
NJHK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-06
Location: East Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 10,878
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by redcobizzylt
i am not sure the exact specs but i do know that the auto trans will not hold that kind of power and if for some odd reason it does i would imagine not for long ill reply with more once i research it a little further
The 4T45E can hold that much power. If the 4T40Es can, they can as well. People have proved it in the past.
NJHK is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 03:19 PM
  #54  
Member
 
Join Date: 08-05-06
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 238
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by NJHK
The 4T45E can hold that much power. If the 4T40Es can, they can as well. People have proved it in the past.

you maybe right i just couldnt see the transmission holding that much power cause i know my buddy with a automatic cobalt with a rigged up turbo system when i say rigged up i mean completely rigged up it was off my old neon and my neon was throwing out 272whp and his transmission already went twice the only reason he wont switch to a stick is he doesnt know how to drive one
redcobizzylt is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 08:48 PM
  #55  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: 04-28-06
Location: Strathroy, ON, CANADA!
Posts: 849
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
any updates on forced induction for the 2.2?
06Pursuit is offline  
Old 09-21-2006, 10:24 PM
  #56  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: USA
Posts: 2,476
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How to "S/C" a 2.2 Cobalt

This has been running through my mind for a while now. Down the line when my warranty is expired I'd like to supercharge my 2.2 Cobalt using the same SC setup thats on the SS and Redline. Now here is my idea... (keep in mind I know I need tuning before any of this is possible)

First of all I'd need to actual supercharger, likely used or from a junkyard along with all its components, pulley, intake etc. Then larger injectors and of course this whole setup would have to have a custom tune, hopefully this will be possible when HP Tuners cracks the 2.2 ECM.

How feasible is this, assuming I could find a shop that would custom tune the 2.2 ECM to the S/C setup. I know as far as fitment of the supercharger, intake, etc there aren't any issues, but is anything else in my way besides tuning?

I'd imagine a S/C-ed 2.2 running a conservative amount of boost would produce over 200hp, accurate guess?
tonio5555 is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 12:15 AM
  #57  
New Member
 
Join Date: 07-21-06
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I read maximum boost has 3 stages of turbo levels to pick from. Isn't it useless unless there is some way to tune?
Kemo is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 12:19 AM
  #58  
Banned
 
D4u2s0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-18-05
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 17,843
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Kemo
I read maximum boost has 3 stages of turbo levels to pick from. Isn't it useless unless there is some way to tune?
can't believe they're still around... their "cobalt turbo" is really a generic piece of crap... it's not cobalt specific, probably won't fit, and like you said no tuning... stay far away from this company...
D4u2s0t is offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 12:23 AM
  #59  
New Member
 
Join Date: 07-21-06
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so THAT is the company you guys were talking about that does bad business correct?

Sorry, but this turbo thing has me bit hard!

Had to test drive a S70 T5, had NO clue it had turbo in it. Floored it because it was doggy as heck... then she takes off about 2 seconds later. Yeah i like that

Can you point me in the general direction of where to look? It still sucks that there is no tuning software.

Oh and is it still a rumor of new cobalts being turbocharged?

EDIT -

I forgot to ask! If and WHEN it is released... how much PSI can the stock 2.2 take? I heard 8 was most on the early ecotec models. what would be mandatory to upgrade? Pistons, rods, shaft, valve train... what else?
Kemo is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 04:55 PM
  #60  
New Member
 
Join Date: 09-30-05
Location: Jackson, NJ
Posts: 82
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sts turbo

http://www.ststurbo.com/universal_system

Pics of the kit mounted on the 2.2 cobalt =) hmmm maybe someone should ask some questions, cause my email thing is down.
skydragon26 is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 07:24 PM
  #61  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts



Nice Find! I'll see what they can tell me about it. I'm sure it's just a fitment test and they also do not yet have a tuning solution. But I'll ask.
Check out some of the plumbing in that picture. The oil return goes right into the oil cap! And the extra fuel injector is attached right to the fuel rail.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 09:16 PM
  #62  
New Member
 
Join Date: 07-21-06
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thats a LOT of plumbing just for a turbo kit...

vehicle isn't even muffled

keep us posted please. that looks like an extremely cheap way to do it... i'm up for it
Kemo is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 09:40 PM
  #63  
Senior Member
iTrader: (6)
 
Spanky's Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-09-06
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 3,507
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
looks good but what about water splashing up on the turbo if its running hot? would there be any adverse effects to be concerned with? i drive my cobbie everywhere through rain, sleet and snow and that sure as **** dont look like a postman in a hamster wheel down there.
Spanky's Monkey is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 10:12 PM
  #64  
Member
 
Join Date: 06-07-06
Location: richmond B.C
Posts: 317
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yaaa baby maybe i will keep my 2.2 yes keep us posted iam in too gots new jop so i would wouldent mind some boost.but ya i live in a rainy ass place soo that spot looks iffy
civickilla is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 10:18 PM
  #65  
Member
 
Join Date: 06-07-06
Location: richmond B.C
Posts: 317
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Halfcent
You don't have to do anything if you don't want to. The engine and trans can safely handle 250HP without modification. More actually, but that's a conservative number.
is the internals safe tho for long term use also racing with them
civickilla is offline  
Old 09-29-2006, 10:30 PM
  #66  
Banned
 
rally's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-23-06
Location: Peoria, Illinois
Posts: 11,766
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'd be cautious of that one, especially if your lowered that pipe wont last more than two weeks
rally is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 12:39 AM
  #67  
New Member
 
Join Date: 07-21-06
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ez access to steal too.
Kemo is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 12:45 AM
  #68  
Banned
 
rally's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-23-06
Location: Peoria, Illinois
Posts: 11,766
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I dont think many people would steal it...but whatever
rally is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 04:43 PM
  #69  
Senior Member
 
lil_kano's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-19-06
Location: Sunrise, Fl
Posts: 1,812
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so about how much less horsepower does your car have now? Also on that sts turbo system...what if yo have an exhaust system? Like a corsa system, would it cause any problems? I don't think so, but fitting is the only issue i can think of.

Last edited by lil_kano; 09-30-2006 at 05:13 PM.
lil_kano is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 07:26 PM
  #70  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 12-02-05
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 376
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That turbo setup looks ghetto fabolous
1SloBowtie is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 08:25 AM
  #71  
Senior Member
 
CTCOBALTSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-21-06
Location: CT
Posts: 7,917
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The only thing I don't like about the rear mount turbo is it's exposure to the elements. It's kick ass for a trailor race car.
CTCOBALTSSS is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 02:20 PM
  #72  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by lil_kano
so about how much less horsepower does your car have now? Also on that sts turbo system...what if yo have an exhaust system? Like a corsa system, would it cause any problems? I don't think so, but fitting is the only issue i can think of.
I don't know exactly, I never dyno'ed it. I'd guess maybe 20 less.

If you used this system and had an exhaust, you would have to remove your exhaust from the muffler back.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 08:40 PM
  #73  
New Member
 
Join Date: 07-22-06
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 109
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
damn that system is dumping right out the wastegate AND the exit outlet on the turbo...that thing has to sound like a tractor....screw a open downpipe i want open turbo
PayJ is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 08:49 PM
  #74  
Senior Member
 
NJHK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-06
Location: East Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 10,878
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
It just seems like too much room for problems, too long of tubing and bends for compressed air to travel, exposure to elements, distance for oil lines to travel...

I can understand why cars like Corvettes do it, they have very little space underneath the hood. Honestly, you guys more than enough space to a proper turbo setup underneath your hood where it is secure.

That's my opinion though.
NJHK is offline  
Old 10-02-2006, 01:46 PM
  #75  
New Member
 
Join Date: 07-22-06
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 109
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
in going along with everyone...one more sideeffect will be major boost lag..the exaust gasses will have to travel too far to get many major boost off the line...inless the go will a really small t3 or t3/t4 turbo you wont see many exciting numbers on the dyno. and water will def be an issue...i live in southern louisiana and a day without rain is like a day with out sunllight...i wouldd boycott this kit until STS makes some kind of spash guard or....plastic turbo or until they can prove water can not and will not destroy a turbo...
PayJ is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: L61 Turbo/Super (forced induction) Information Thread


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.