Cobalt SS Network

Cobalt SS Network (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/)
-   All Cars Café (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/all-cars-caf%E9-195/)
-   -   EXNINJA's kit car build thread (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/all-cars-caf%E9-195/exninjas-kit-car-build-thread-325770/)

exninja 02-08-2018 05:06 PM

EXNINJA's kit car build thread

Some may know I own a Miata. Yup, gay. If you know that, you may know I want to turn it into an exo-car (less gay). The kit I want is called an Exomotive Exocet. It's like a DF Goblin, but using a Miata.

https://cimg1.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.cob...6be2b5bbfb.jpg

I've been saving for a few years now. Since I started saving, we've moved homes and had two more kids. It's been tough to save. This year is different. I've got a good stash saved up, but tax refund is going to be good and work is giving me a great bonus (thanks Trump). Time to be frivolous.

Originally I was thinking I'd build it with the 1.6 and get it running, then maybe boost if I felt like and then save some more for big V8 POWAA down the road. Like this:

https://cimg3.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.cob...82b370465d.jpg

What changed? A few months ago I moved the Miata to clean and organize the garage. I left it idling since it hadn't been run for quite a while. I cleaned for 30 minutes or so, then glanced at the car. The secret ingredient was leaking. The fan decided not to work anymore. I filled it with water and it started again, then I put it away. It still sounded fine, but the head is probably warped. This accelerated my swap schedule. I don't want to bother getting a likely-broken motor running in a new car, nor to all of the work and expense to get a good 1.6 going.