Cobalt SS Network

Cobalt SS Network (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/)
-   General Cobalt (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/general-cobalt-68/)
-   -   Reverse lockout question (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/general-cobalt-68/reverse-lockout-question-145210/)

2.2blckbalt 12-04-2008 01:32 AM

Reverse lockout question

Been lurking the forums for awhile but this is my first post so hello.

Sorry for being a complete noob but what exactly is reverse lockout?

I THINK it is something you have to lift up on located on the actual shifter.
Or is like if I'm in 5th gear and pull straight down the shifter gets pushed over to 4th rather than going straight down into reverse and screwing up my car.

Could someone clarify please?

I have an '05 base model Cobalt if it matters.

THANKS!!!

Sharkey 12-04-2008 01:45 AM

the reverse lockout is to prevent you from going from 5th gear directly to reverse. gm does it by a manual peice on the shifter were you have to lift up to move the shifter over to reverse.

EmperorJJ1 12-04-2008 01:45 AM

its the lil piece you have to pull up to go into reverse

2.2blckbalt 12-04-2008 02:00 AM

Did it come stock on every Cobalt?
Cause I've never had a piece I had to pull up.

EmperorJJ1 12-04-2008 02:32 AM

i think so... If its a manual. then maybe not i dont know really. Do you have the stock shifter/knob?

Acey 12-04-2008 02:39 AM

No. Your car does not have it. Only F35 has it, that is, SS/SC and SS/TC. The F23 does not, that is, 2.2 and 2.4.

EXsoccer1921 12-04-2008 02:41 AM

you don't have it. but both things you said are pretty much correct. its there to "lock" you out of reverse unless you pull up.

2.2blckbalt 12-04-2008 02:46 AM

Acey I think your more along the lines of what I was thinking.

In my car I cant pull straight back from 5th into reverse.
I assume thats a feature from GM.
Do I need to concern myself with that when I purchase a short throw shifter?