Cobalt SS Network

Cobalt SS Network (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/)
-   General Cobalt (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/general-cobalt-68/)
-   -   What are the top mods I should do to my stock Cobalt? (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/general-cobalt-68/what-top-mods-i-should-do-my-stock-cobalt-325917/)

ItsAstrix 03-07-2018 09:48 AM

What are the top mods I should do to my stock Cobalt?

Hey guys, I'm a new-ish member on here, and I just acquired quite a bit of cash that I am looking to put into my Cobalt SS/NA. Backstory of the car, she bought it in 2006 at a dealership in Indiana, and babied the car all her life. It only has 52k miles, and everything is stock.. I got the car a little over a year ago after she passed away, and its a great car. Im looking to do some stuff to it, where should I start? By the way, I'm 17 years old so Im still learning how to do stuff, this is going to be my car that will lead me into my career as a Mechanical engineer, and my first ever project car.

This is what I was thinking about doing in order
1 Raceland Coilovers
2 Eaton Supercharger (Maybe a K04 TC??)
3 Meghan Racing Full Catback
4 Brembos?? Car LE5 doesnt come with them.

Thanks!

umrdyldo 03-07-2018 12:06 PM

I'd personally do the following:

At 17 I'd say save your money. But I'm old and went down the same path as you.

But here's option 2.

1. Supercharger setup from an 05-07 SS including an intake. Easier/cheaper to purchase and tune than Turbo setup.
2. Not Megan Catback, Maybe ZZP or something with resonator.
3. Power Rear Sway Bar
4. Power YYZ Springs
5. Powell Spherical Control Arm Bushings and possibly upgraded Control Arms.
6. I wouldn't do the Brembo Kit. You need hub spacers and wheel spacers. Just find better rotors and pads. Only do the kit if you look to track or autoX.

jdbaugh1 03-07-2018 12:13 PM