Problems/Service/Maintenance Do you have problems with your new 2.0, 2.2, or 2.4L? What kind of service did you have done?

2008 Cobalt LS nightmare

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2018, 01:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation 2008 Cobalt LS nightmare

Good morning, this is my first time posting in this forum. I see this seems to be exclusive for SS models but i really hope to find some answers to my Cobalt problems, which i had a lot almost since day 1... thank you very much in advance for your help. So i own a 2008 LS Cobalt that was giving me a Crankshaft position sensor error code for a long time and the car would shake a little bit from time to time but i really did nothing about it, just had my mecanic replace the sensor but the error code kept showing up. The tachometer stopped working one day and also the car wouldn't start at the first key stroke but once it started it would run fine. A few months later problems came back, this time catalytic converter was so capped that the car wouldn't run at all, i had to turn it off and wait a couple of minutes and then i would barely made it home, so it took it to the mecanic and he had the catalytic converter removed. The day i went to pick up the car, it apparently and for some reason ran out of battery and it didn't start, mecanic connected a battery right to the post next to the fuse box and the car started, but i had the locked car light turned on and also the one with the exclamation mark. The next day the lights were off and the car ran like a dream for about a week. So two weeks ago, I arrived at my job in the morning with no problems at all but in the afternoon when i was about to go home, the car did not start. I had some guys jump starting my car using their truck, but nothing happened. Every light in the car did turn on, so did the radio but the car just wouldn't crank at all! They tried plugging some cable into the post next to the fuse box and even though it did crank, the car did not start. I ha