Tuning For tuning and related discussions

Canned e85 tune lean? High Temps on LE5/K04

Old 02-04-2017, 01:17 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Canned e85 tune lean? High Temps on LE5/K04

I have been through my entire cooling system and even had the pros spend a week with it and we can't seem to figure why I am running high Coolant Temps. He mentioned running lean with the added Turbo, so I look at the tune (I am a novice at tuning, still trying to learn the basics of hptuners), and I noticed that my afr is set to 13.1. Shouldn't I be closer to the 10-11 range? My fans are set to start at 100% at 194°, it has a new water pump, thermostat, Coolant temp sensor, and zzp oversized radiator. It's not doing anything to suggest a bad head gasket, other than Overheating. Is the tune the problem? I'm slowly crossing mechanical off the list.
Old 02-04-2017, 01:26 PM

Received 836 Likes on 733 Posts
Your AFR for cruise should be 14.7

For an LE5 for WOT (which you need a wideband to verify iirc) should be around 11.5, not sure what LE5s like.

How high are the temps?
Old 02-04-2017, 01:31 PM
Platinum Member

Received 584 Likes on 519 Posts
Is the system pressurizing?
Old 02-04-2017, 01:38 PM

Originally Posted by ECaulk
Your AFR for cruise should be 14.7

For an LE5 for WOT (which you need a wideband to verify iirc) should be around 11.5, not sure what LE5s like.

How high are the temps?
I have a wideband installed, I just haven't had time to wire it up yet. Temps get up to around 235, then come down. It's like roller coaster. If I'm around 70mph it won't go over 212
Old 02-04-2017, 01:47 PM

Get it wired up and see what's going on. It's impossible to tune wot correctly without it, it will also help with getting the idle and cruise areas where they need to be
Old 02-04-2017, 02:11 PM

Get it wired up and see what's going on. It's impossible to tune wot correctly without it, it will also help with getting the idle and cruise areas where they need to be