2.0L LSJ Performance Tech 205hp Supercharged SS tuner version. 200 lb-ft of torque.

Do people really buy this junk?...

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Dec 9, 2006 | 09:44 PM
  #1  
Coblt ss super's Avatar
Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Joined: 03-01-06
Posts: 6,088
Likes: 1
From: Westchester, New York
Do people really buy this junk?...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/20HP-...QQcmdZViewItem

Do people honestly buy this crap and expect it to actaully work? like seriously everyone knows maybe 95% of stuff sold on ebay is jsut junk. But really i wanna c what this does to a cobalt, probably codes up the ass is my guess.
Reply
Old Dec 9, 2006 | 09:49 PM
  #2  
nctarheel1089's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 03-03-06
Posts: 559
Likes: 0
From: oneida, ny
actually i think one of my friends did
Reply
Old Dec 9, 2006 | 09:50 PM
  #3  
Coblt ss super's Avatar
Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Joined: 03-01-06
Posts: 6,088
Likes: 1
From: Westchester, New York
on a cobalt? what happened?
Reply
Old Dec 9, 2006 | 09:56 PM
  #4  
nctarheel1089's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 03-03-06
Posts: 559
Likes: 0
From: oneida, ny
not for a cobalt. i think he got it for his dodge avenger.
Reply
Old Dec 9, 2006 | 10:01 PM
  #5  
Mike_42's Avatar
Member
 
Joined: 03-05-05
Posts: 361
Likes: 0
From: Wyoming
I hope people don't buy junk like that... LOL

Quoted from that listing:
" This is a resistor that will plug into your AIT(air intake temp) sensor and modify your AIR/Fuel ratio and slightly change your engine timing to run stronger and with increased power "


That means all they are selling is a simple resistor, and the purpose being to falsify air intake temp readings which of course fools the car's computer into thinking conditions are different than they actually are, causing different AFR etc. resulting in "different" performance...


it probably does at least alter settings.. but wether it is good or bad.. either way it is the wrong way to mod any car.

If the comp thinks the air is 53 degrees when it is actually 103 it could likely be not good for the car.
Reply
Old Dec 9, 2006 | 10:03 PM
  #6  
Coblt ss super's Avatar
Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Joined: 03-01-06
Posts: 6,088
Likes: 1
From: Westchester, New York
Originally Posted by Mike_42
I hope people don't buy junk like that... LOL

Quoted from that listing:
" This is a resistor that will plug into your AIT(air intake temp) sensor and modify your AIR/Fuel ratio and slightly change your engine timing to run stronger and with increased power "


That means all they are selling is a simple resistor, and the purpose being to falsify air intake temp readings which of course fools the car's computer into thinking conditions are different than they actually are, causing different AFR etc. resulting in "different" performance...


it probably does at least alter settings.. but wether it is good or bad.. either way it is the wrong way to mod any car.
right and ull never see this in my car!! lol modding for a cobalt ss s/c = Stage 2 lol or somting to that extent
Reply
Old Dec 9, 2006 | 10:32 PM
  #7  
plyboy-illest's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 01-02-05
Posts: 5,183
Likes: 0
From: Toronto (woodbridge)
im sure ppl buy it there alot of suckers out there...
Reply
Old Dec 9, 2006 | 10:39 PM
  #8  
Allshot's Avatar
Banned
 
Joined: 05-27-06
Posts: 13,079
Likes: 0
From: San Leandro, CA
Dude I have 3 of them hooked up. I must be pushing atleast 320 to the wheels now
Reply
Old Dec 9, 2006 | 10:40 PM
  #9  
nctarheel1089's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 03-03-06
Posts: 559
Likes: 0
From: oneida, ny
320 thats it. i get at least 500 to the wheels
Reply
Old Dec 9, 2006 | 10:44 PM
  #10  
RaineMan's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 09-02-05
Posts: 5,446
Likes: 0
From: Salt Lake, UT
well.. if you hooked one of those up... you'd be running pig rich...
Reply
Old Dec 9, 2006 | 11:22 PM
  #11  
pvirga88's Avatar
Member
 
Joined: 03-01-06
Posts: 368
Likes: 0
From: Yonkers, NY
Originally Posted by Coblt ss super
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/20HP-...QQcmdZViewItem

Do people honestly buy this crap and expect it to actaully work? like seriously everyone knows maybe 95% of stuff sold on ebay is jsut junk. But really i wanna c what this does to a cobalt, probably codes up the ass is my guess.

Hell Yeah if you but 4 of those you'll get 80 hp at the wheels
Reply
Old Dec 10, 2006 | 11:50 AM
  #12  
cds00bsmg's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 05-08-06
Posts: 531
Likes: 0
From: Edinburg, PA
I just like to take corn and sugar, and let it ferment for about a week in 70* weather, then I run it through a still I made from copper tubing and a tea kettle. I render the alcohol and 50/50 it with 93 octane gas and run it in my car......

its swank......

P.S.-I'll also sell you a mason jar of it for your next frat party, haha....
Reply
Old Dec 10, 2006 | 11:57 AM
  #13  
D4u2s0t's Avatar
Banned
 
Joined: 12-18-05
Posts: 17,838
Likes: 1
From: North Jersey
Originally Posted by Coblt ss super
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/20HP-...QQcmdZViewItem

Do people honestly buy this crap and expect it to actaully work? like seriously everyone knows maybe 95% of stuff sold on ebay is jsut junk. But really i wanna c what this does to a cobalt, probably codes up the ass is my guess.
same as in any other "store" though...

sadly, yes, people DO think it works... then they go around saying that they have a super turbo chipped cobalt that smokes mad civics yo...
Reply
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Zharrington_2010LNF
2.0L LNF Performance Tech
21
Feb 8, 2016 01:43 PM
patooyee
2.4L LE5 Performance Tech
50
Oct 15, 2015 05:11 PM
OrangeCoba
Suspension
1
Oct 1, 2015 10:00 PM
Iceberg
New Members Check In!!
8
Sep 29, 2015 12:33 PM
Iceberg
Drivetrain
1
Sep 28, 2015 01:31 PM




All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:03 PM.