General Cobalt General Cobalt, Pursuit, and Ion talk. Post specific discussions in the forums below

Superchip Engine Programmer

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 12:51 PM
  #1  
gocanucksgo's Avatar
Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Joined: 06-14-06
Posts: 411
Likes: 0
From: Langley, BC
Superchip Engine Programmer

http://www.autopartswarehouse.com/de...QQS542825.html

saw this not sure if it's a repost...it says it'll work on any model. Anyone used it or know anything about it?
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 01:02 PM
  #2  
refuge4's Avatar
Member
 
Joined: 05-31-06
Posts: 351
Likes: 0
From: Maryville, TN
Superchips doesn't show it on their website.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:15 PM
  #3  
06_SS_S/C's Avatar
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: 02-26-07
Posts: 4,645
Likes: 0
From: Tacoma, WA
That website is a joke. Go search Google for autopartswarehouse.com reviews/problems, you will see many people who get scammed by them. They list **** that doesn't exist all the time.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:21 PM
  #4  
They call me 'E''s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 09-18-07
Posts: 1,304
Likes: 0
From: Wappingers Falls NY
If it seems too good to be true...
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:22 PM
  #5  
Co|3aLt $$'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 07-30-06
Posts: 1,442
Likes: 1
From: Wind Gap, PA
well i'm not sure if it works or not...would be nice if it did..... but I found only good reviews of that website...
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:22 PM
  #6  
CTCOBALTSSS's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 03-21-06
Posts: 7,917
Likes: 2
From: CT
I do not recommend getting a chip gocanucksgo.

Put that money toward other mods like an intake and exhaust.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:22 PM
  #7  
Co|3aLt $$'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 07-30-06
Posts: 1,442
Likes: 1
From: Wind Gap, PA
well...why is it too good to be true?? it's 400 bucks...they wouldn't be the first to figure it out.... maybe contact them.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:23 PM
  #8  
D4u2s0t's Avatar
Banned
 
Joined: 12-18-05
Posts: 17,838
Likes: 1
From: North Jersey
it's not a chip like you're thinking. it's more like a standalone unit, and some of the 2.2 guys have been excited about this, though i don't think anyone has actually tried it out yet.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:23 PM
  #9  
They call me 'E''s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 09-18-07
Posts: 1,304
Likes: 0
From: Wappingers Falls NY
*shrugs*

Your car, do what you want.

I'll stick with bolt ons and a good tune, myself.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:24 PM
  #10  
Co|3aLt $$'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 07-30-06
Posts: 1,442
Likes: 1
From: Wind Gap, PA
but...supposedly this is for the tune part.... lol
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:26 PM
  #11  
NJHK's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 01-05-06
Posts: 10,877
Likes: 2
From: East Brunswick, NJ
Originally Posted by D4u2s0t
it's not a chip like you're thinking. it's more like a standalone unit, and some of the 2.2 guys have been excited about this, though i don't think anyone has actually tried it out yet.
It's not a standalone, it's just a programmer.

but like someone else said, I think the site is false.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:27 PM
  #12  
06black's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 08-13-05
Posts: 5,733
Likes: 1
From: the glove
Originally Posted by They call me 'E'
*shrugs*

Your car, do what you want.

I'll stick with bolt ons and a good tune, myself.
a good tune huh.....what exactly do you think this is???

maybe its time for some one to read?

however, if its not on SCT's website then i'm not believing ****.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:38 PM
  #13  
Co|3aLt $$'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 07-30-06
Posts: 1,442
Likes: 1
From: Wind Gap, PA
someone contact superchips..

edit---- emailed them.. i will let you know

http://www.autopartswarehouse.com/se...rolet%20Cobalt

check these out as well...

Last edited by Co|3aLt $$; Jan 17, 2008 at 02:38 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:41 PM
  #14  
USMCFieldMP's Avatar
Rattlesnake Race Shop
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: 06-08-06
Posts: 15,725
Likes: 410
From: Fort Worth, TX
Its A Trap!!!

There is no Programmer from Superchips for the Cobalt... especially one that works for ALL models.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 02:48 PM
  #15  
Co|3aLt $$'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 07-30-06
Posts: 1,442
Likes: 1
From: Wind Gap, PA
I would doubt it was well, however a message has been sent, if they're even a half decent company they'll answer soon to confirm our suspicion either way.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 03:25 PM
  #16  
RaineMan's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 09-02-05
Posts: 5,446
Likes: 0
From: Salt Lake, UT
a handheld "programmer" might work for the 2.2 and 2.4... but I can't see it working for the 2.0.

I looked up the part number that the website has listed... that is a superchips tuner for GM Cars... Cars with LS series engines... LS-1... LS-2... not Cobalts.

http://superchips.com/products.php?s...it_button.y=17

Last edited by RaineMan; Jan 17, 2008 at 03:30 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 03:50 PM
  #17  
Co|3aLt $$'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 07-30-06
Posts: 1,442
Likes: 1
From: Wind Gap, PA
I searched the part number and got nothing.... wonder what the difference is?? also, why the 2.2 and 2.4 but not the 2.0?
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 03:55 PM
  #18  
RaineMan's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 09-02-05
Posts: 5,446
Likes: 0
From: Salt Lake, UT
There are too many variables with the 2.0... with the boost and what-not programming is very tricky... and a "canned" tune will not work on all cars... as we have seen evidenced.

With NA engines... flashing a new tune on there is a relative piece of cake... a lot less can go wrong.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 03:58 PM
  #19  
Co|3aLt $$'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 07-30-06
Posts: 1,442
Likes: 1
From: Wind Gap, PA
true, oh I see it is a canned tune basically, i thought you could change certain variables, but I guess not.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 04:02 PM
  #20  
RaineMan's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 09-02-05
Posts: 5,446
Likes: 0
From: Salt Lake, UT
you can change whether or not you want to use only "premium" fuel... which the SS/SC requires already... and you can recalibrate for different final drive ratio... or different tire sizes...

but overall they are just canned tunes in a handheld box... saves you from taking a trip to get dyno tuned if you have a NA car... they work great on Mustangs, Camaros, Vettes, all kinds of trucks... but they've never caught on in the "tuner" market b/c most everyone goes FI at some point if they are really serious about power.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 04:14 PM
  #21  
Co|3aLt $$'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 07-30-06
Posts: 1,442
Likes: 1
From: Wind Gap, PA
I'd like it because I want a bit of a tune, but I don't want anything super agressive b/c I run crap gas. lol I know I should run 91 or better but I dont lol.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 05:45 PM
  #22  
06_SS_S/C's Avatar
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: 02-26-07
Posts: 4,645
Likes: 0
From: Tacoma, WA
Apparently no one saw my post.

That website is a joke. Go search Google for autopartswarehouse.com reviews/problems, you will see many people who get scammed by them. They list **** that doesn't exist all the time.
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 06:14 PM
  #23  
Co|3aLt $$'s Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 07-30-06
Posts: 1,442
Likes: 1
From: Wind Gap, PA
I did search it, and only 10 or so people out of a few hundred posted negative comments. of those...they were people who didn't call the company, or who though "online shopping was the devil"


However, in your defense, I contacted both companies about the product and have heard absolutely NOTHING from either one.....speaks volumes doesn't it?
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 06:24 PM
  #24  
06_SS_S/C's Avatar
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: 02-26-07
Posts: 4,645
Likes: 0
From: Tacoma, WA
Really?

http://www.epinions.com/content_250012405380 (2.5 stars out of 5)
http://www.reviewcentre.com/reviews112512.html (5.7 / 10)
http://www.complaintsboard.com/compl...om-c11234.html
http://www.autocar.co.uk/forums/t/1067.aspx
http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/t72646.html

Those are just on the first two pages of Google search results.


Oh, and I almost forgot, who can forget this GEM right from our own board!!! People bashed me in this thread too when I told them the site was **** and they weren't getting them at that price. And guess what, no one did!

https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/show...ED+tail+lights
Reply
Old Jan 17, 2008 | 06:27 PM
  #25  
BlilBT's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Joined: 01-05-06
Posts: 2,509
Likes: 1
From: Ft Lauderdale
Originally Posted by 06_SS_S/C
Really?

http://www.epinions.com/content_250012405380 (2.5 stars out of 5)
http://www.reviewcentre.com/reviews112512.html (5.7 / 10)
http://www.complaintsboard.com/compl...om-c11234.html
http://www.autocar.co.uk/forums/t/1067.aspx
http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/t72646.html

Those are just on the first two pages of Google search results.


Oh, and I almost forgot, who can forget this GEM right from our own board!!! People bashed me in this thread too when I told them the site was **** and they weren't getting them at that price. And guess what, no one did!

https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/show...ED+tail+lights


It's kinda like that old saying >>>You can lead a Horse to Water , But you can't make him Drink it!
Reply



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 AM.