08-10 SS Turbocharged General Discussion Discuss the 2008 - 2009 Chevy Cobalt SS Turbocharged. On sale since the second quarter of 2008.

NOS octane booster.

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2012, 07:17 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
NOS octane booster.

Hey guys just wanted to get your input on NOS octane booster. Does it really work or are the just to get your money and would they make any noticeable differences on our cars ?
Old 12-31-2012, 07:21 PM
Got Brakes?
Platinum Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Take 50% of the money you would spend on that and mail it to me. That way you get 100% of the results for 50% of the cost. Total win for you!
Old 12-31-2012, 07:25 PM
Super Moderator
Platinum Member

Received 87 Likes on 74 Posts
Lol awesome response!!
Old 12-31-2012, 07:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
octane boost.. for complete noobs.
Old 12-31-2012, 07:31 PM
Got Brakes?
Platinum Member

Old 12-31-2012, 08:16 PM

The only time I ever use octane boost is when I have a marginal tank in my fourth gen - in order to stop the knock of the overly ambitious tune - or as a "just in case" when my wife puts regular in the 'balt, but the "NOS" brand? Just hype and it does nothing to increase performance.
Old 12-31-2012, 08:59 PM

Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Here is a little info on the topic and a good comparison Octane Boosters | Fuel Tech Experts
Old 12-31-2012, 09:12 PM
Got Brakes?
Platinum Member

The one to read first is
Do I need an Octane booster?
Old 12-31-2012, 10:06 PM

Good submissions on the articles!

I have 2-3 bottles of the 104+ (or is it 103+? Ah, who cares!), and like I said, its used mostly to treat crappy tanks of gas on my detonation-prone, over-tuned car. It really means nothing for horsepower unless you're kissing detonation and the ECM is pulling back timing. If you're there with your LNF, there's already something wrong with you!