08-10 SS Turbocharged General Discussion Discuss the 2008 - 2009 Chevy Cobalt SS Turbocharged. On sale since the second quarter of 2008.

questions/concerns with lnf gms1 stage kit

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2010, 09:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
questions/concerns with lnf gms1 stage kit

hey guys,

im a newbie when it comes to tuning cars. i just bought a cobalt tc 2010 about 6 months ago. Now i have been reading relentlessly on all of the different tunes for this car. also have read the pro's/con's with the bolt-on's. Now it sounds to me like the gms1 is the safest choice obviously bc of the gm warranty. my question is what kind of boost numbers can you expect while daily driving? i have read mine w/o the gms1 and it stays between 3-5 psi. can i expect an increase in normal boost from 1st and 2nd gear, as well as a significant decrease in mpg's, while still daily driving? right now im getting 25mpg city. I would like to reiterate the fact that i am not going to be wot shifting, just daily driving. On the other hand, with that said, would just a K&N SRI be a better investment, when trying to get quicker turbo spool in 1st/2nd gear w/o messing with the warranty? sorry for the long post. any info would be greatly appreciated. thanks.
Old 10-20-2010, 10:15 AM

well I have the gms1 and no, your gas mileage wont get any worse. mine is the same, which probably means it's actually better, because I definitely step on it more often. and as for the K&N, it won't do you any good without getting the gms1 or a tune because of learn-down.
Old 10-20-2010, 10:21 AM

yea ive read about the learn down feature, but the turbo should spool faster bc of the increase in air right? do u have the SRI as well? or just stock filter.
Old 10-20-2010, 10:24 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
the intake should make the turbo spool slightly faster, yea. a catless DP will also do this.
Old 10-20-2010, 10:30 AM