Appearance Body Kits, Hoods, Wheels, Spoilers, Interiors

Carbon Fiber: Overused?

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2007, 02:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Carbon Fiber: Overused?

I'm bored here at work so I'll put this out and see what happens. It seems like everyone these days is lusting after carbon fiber goodies. CF wing inserts, hoods, trunks, bowties, fuel doors, everything you can think of, people want it in carbon fiber.

My question is why? I've never been partial to the look of CF, I don't bag on it because it does have valid uses, and in some cases, it does increase the aesthetics of a ride. However, and I'm probably gonna get roasted for going against the grain in this, but I can't help but voice my opinions.

I'm new to the sport compact 'scene', so to speak, my other ride is a 68 Impala, still a chevy, slightly bigger scale. Obviously, I didn't see a whole helluva lot of carbon fiber when I worked on and around muscle cars. So I bought this badass little cobalt cause I needed something reliable to commute in and still have fun in, and here I am cause I love forum whoring for one, and modding my cars for two.

But I'm struggling to understand the CF craze that seems to permeate the general area of appearance mods.

Just my two cents.
Old 09-21-2007, 02:22 PM

Lot of people get it for the looks but it weighs a lot less then other and yeah you wont see much of it on muscle cars
Old 09-21-2007, 02:24 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
all i know is red and silver cars look sick well especially the cobalt, look so sick with cf on em
Old 09-21-2007, 02:24 PM

i really dont like it.. thats MO... to expensive.
Old 09-21-2007, 02:26 PM