Drivetrain Transmission, LSD, Clutch, Driveline, Axles...

Auto better than manual

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2005, 01:54 AM
South Central *********

Received 48 Likes on 38 Posts
Originally Posted by betterthanbad
Here is an interesting way to look at it.

I have driven manual since I was 16.......that's 19 years. I am a good driver and I know when to shift....I don't even look at the tac's I just know when to shift by the sound of the engine. It's interesting to note that an experienced driver realizes that the car becomes an extention of your own body. Not only on the inside but on the outside as well. That is to say you know where the bumpers are in relation to other obsticles. That being said, a driver of a manual car is, in my opinion, more aware of his/her surroundings as well as being in total control of the vehicle. I wonder what stats there are on accidents with manual vs. auto in relation to driver experience!!!!!

Amen... I truly have always felt connected to the car i drive and in control by knowing exaclty the distance required and the time required to stop, pass, evade, etc.\
the ability to process all of that and adapt to the road and traffic conditions is key to driving effectively
Old 05-16-2005, 12:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by JapEatr
Amen... I truly have always felt connected to the car i drive and in control by knowing exaclty the distance required and the time required to stop, pass, evade, etc.\
the ability to process all of that and adapt to the road and traffic conditions is key to driving effectively
Absolutely. I agree that knowing all this information is valuable.
Fortunately this is all info you can know in an automatic car, too.

Automatics work in a pre-determined pattern based on the speed
and throttle position (and probably other factors). They do not go
shifting gears randomly. Once you understand your automatic, it
is not hard at all to get the necessary gear shifts when needed.