Cobalt SS Network

Cobalt SS Network (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/)
-   General Cobalt (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/general-cobalt-68/)
-   -   07 SS Cobalt (supercharged) (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/general-cobalt-68/07-ss-cobalt-supercharged-327373/)

jrmat1 02-01-2019 11:27 PM

07 SS Cobalt (supercharged)

I’m looking to buy the car listed above. Any common problems or things I need to look at for when inspecting it?
Im new to the Cobalt scene so I’m looking forward to hearing some feedback on this. Thanks!

Flarfignewton 02-02-2019 11:14 AM

Make sure the intercooler pump is working, open the small coolant cap at the front of the engine while it's running and see is the coolant is moving. Look for rust at the bottom of the doors. If you can lift the car up check for broken rear coil springs and torn rearward control arm bushings on the front control arms. Check for any rattling from the timing chain on cold start. Other than that just ask about general maintenance stuff. Hopefully others will chime in here on anything I may have missed.

jrmat1 02-02-2019 11:36 AM

Originally Posted by Flarfignewton (Post 7706757)
Make sure the intercooler pump is working, open the small coolant cap at the front of the engine while it's running and see is the coolant is moving. Look for rust at the bottom of the doors. If you can lift the car up check for broken rear coil springs and torn rearward control arm bushings on the front control arms. Check for any rattling from the timing chain on cold start. Other than that just ask about general maintenance stuff. Hopefully others will chime in here on anything I may have missed.

Thanks for the feedback. I’ll check these items out.

hrspwrjunkie 02-08-2019 06:44 AM

Originally Posted by jrmat1 (Post 7706755)
I’m looking to buy the car listed above. Any common problems or things I need to look at for when inspecting it?
Im new to the Cobalt scene so I’m looking forward to hearing some feedback on this. Thanks!