General Cobalt General Cobalt, Pursuit, and Ion talk. Post specific discussions in the forums below

07 SS Cobalt (supercharged)

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2019, 11:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
07 SS Cobalt (supercharged)

I’m looking to buy the car listed above. Any common problems or things I need to look at for when inspecting it?
Im new to the Cobalt scene so I’m looking forward to hearing some feedback on this. Thanks!
Old 02-02-2019, 11:14 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Make sure the intercooler pump is working, open the small coolant cap at the front of the engine while it's running and see is the coolant is moving. Look for rust at the bottom of the doors. If you can lift the car up check for broken rear coil springs and torn rearward control arm bushings on the front control arms. Check for any rattling from the timing chain on cold start. Other than that just ask about general maintenance stuff. Hopefully others will chime in here on anything I may have missed.
Old 02-02-2019, 11:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Flarfignewton
Make sure the intercooler pump is working, open the small coolant cap at the front of the engine while it's running and see is the coolant is moving. Look for rust at the bottom of the doors. If you can lift the car up check for broken rear coil springs and torn rearward control arm bushings on the front control arms. Check for any rattling from the timing chain on cold start. Other than that just ask about general maintenance stuff. Hopefully others will chime in here on anything I may have missed.
Thanks for the feedback. I’ll check these items out.
Old 02-08-2019, 06:44 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by jrmat1
I’m looking to buy the car listed above. Any common problems or things I need to look at for when inspecting it?
Im new to the Cobalt scene so I’m looking forward to hearing some feedback on this. Thanks!