General Cobalt General Cobalt, Pursuit, and Ion talk. Post specific discussions in the forums below

Experienced people with private seller car purchases?

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2012, 03:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Experienced people with private seller car purchases?

As some of you know I might be getting my Cobalt in a few days if the test drive succeeds. Now that I'm convinced to buy it, I've run into new problems. One of them, the seller has never sold a vehicle before, it's his first time. Another problem, it's my first time buying a vehicle as well. So we're a little confused even though I've been researching for 6 hours reading online.

Hopefully someone in this board has purchased vehicles before and can guide me a little bit.

Okay, the process to "sell a vehicle" is quite simple, all I need is the title signed over, and the bill of sale. The vehicle purchase is out-of-state (it has TX plates, but owner is currently in NY and I live in CT) - Owner has no printer, he asked if I can bring the bill of sale myself.

Question 1) Can I bring the CT Bill of Sale, or do I need a TX Bill of Sale?
Question 2) Does the bill of sale have to be "computer printed" with the car/owner information (VIN, etc) or can be filled with a PEN?
Question 3) Does the bill of sale have to be "notarized" or it's okay with our signatures?

When I meet up with the owner in NY to do the whole transaction, how do I drive the car back after paying him? I have contacted the CT DMV and they ask me for: car title, bill of sale, insurance card and driver's license in order to issue a 10-day temporary plate. I don't want to buy the car, leave it parked in NY, bring documents to CT DMV to get the temp. plates, and drive back to pick it up, how to avoid all these trips back and forth?

Question 4) Why does the DMV ask for requirements that you OBVIOUSLY get after the car purchase? Is there any other way to get the temporary plates without such documents?