Cobalt SS Network

Cobalt SS Network (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/)
-   General Cobalt (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/general-cobalt-68/)
-   -   Handling getting worse (https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/general-cobalt-68/handling-getting-worse-253381/)

Supercharge91 06-13-2011 12:15 AM

Handling getting worse

Hey guys I'm still pretty new to cars but I have a 2006 SS supercharged. I have a strut tower, cold air intake, and an aftermarket exhaust done with the car. I dont know if any of that would effect my latest problem but I recently hit a curb trying to dodge a guy who wasnt looking. My car's back right wheel was the only one that got messed up. There's a huge chunk of rubber out of the tire and the rim got chipped. The tires look fine in terms of air pressure but my car feels like the handling is a lot worse. Any ideas? I'm using non stock tires btw. I replaced the pirellis with toyo proxies t1.

redcobalt07 06-13-2011 12:18 AM

There is a huge chunk of rubber and you're wondering why the car is handling bad?

Supercharge91 06-13-2011 12:20 AM

its in by the rim so i couldnt see how that'd affect anything.

redcobalt07 06-13-2011 12:21 AM

Dude, replace the tire.

Supercharge91 06-13-2011 12:23 AM

alright well can you explain how rubber around the rim would change my handling? Like i get if it was rubber on the tread

insylem 06-13-2011 12:25 AM

Balance:
Get the tire replaced. And were the rim got chipped, blend it out so it doesnt crack.

Supercharge91 06-13-2011 12:28 AM

Originally Posted by insylem (Post 5848702)
Balance:
Get the tire replaced. And were the rim got chipped, blend it out so it doesnt crack.

I got warranty on the tires thank god but what is blending?

Rocky87 06-13-2011 12:32 AM

i would get that rim rebalanced and do another alighnment

Supercharge91 06-13-2011 12:35 AM

Originally Posted by Rocky87 (Post 5848710)
i would get that rim rebalanced and do another alighnment

the tire shop would do that you think? town fair tire