General Cobalt General Cobalt, Pursuit, and Ion talk. Post specific discussions in the forums below

powershifting

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2006, 10:02 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
powershifting

sorry for this retarded question but i am new to the manual shifting deal and i was wondering what powershifting is?...can anyone tell me..any help would be appreciated..thanks
Old 03-16-2006, 10:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
From what i've been told and tried its when you keep your foot on the gas when shifting, reving the engine to higher rpms (not too high, we don't want to hurt the engine) and dropping the clutch into the next gear (all done quickly). This usually results in a larger jolt into the next gear creating more tire spin and keeping the momentum up in the engine, mainly done from 1st to 2nd. (i wouldn't recommend it if your tires don't spin cause thats a lot of force just slamming it into gear)
Old 03-16-2006, 11:04 PM
Banned

Powershifting requires no clutch at all. Powershifting is slipping a transmission in and out of gears at just the right RPM so it doesn't grind or bind. Precise rev matching is key here. This is vey bad for the transmission but can increase your quickness on race tracks rather well. And by racetracks I don't mean dragstrips.
Old 03-16-2006, 11:48 PM

thats why your tanny is burnt to ****. power shifting is like what the 2nd post said. you use the clutch but you go it quickly. what you are talking about is rev matching.
Old 03-17-2006, 12:25 AM
Banned

Powershifting requires no clutch work...trust me. You should always rev match even when you do use the clutch. It's okay. We don't all race here. And I hope you aren't talking about my transmission being "burnt to ****". Lol.
Old 03-17-2006, 12:29 AM

I was taught streetdreams way...well told lol. I'd never try it though. EVER. ITS BAD. It's not worth going .2 seconds faster and buying a new transmission.
Old 03-17-2006, 12:30 AM
Banned

Originally Posted by memphisr24