Problems/Service/Maintenance Do you have problems with your new 2.0, 2.2, or 2.4L? What kind of service did you have done?

Supercharger(i think) making a weird sound

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2009, 12:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Supercharger(i think) making a weird sound

For a couple weeks now I've been noticing a sound coming from my engine which got pretty bad and its like some sort of rattle forced by air.... by the supercharger probably, its very hard to explain the sound. It kind of sounds like a few very tiny pebbles in a tin can being shakin quickly but not really. It only occurs when I accelerate and is better heard at 2-4 rpms. My friend told me he thought it could be the bearing in the supercharger, my supercharger needing some kind of oil, or something to do with a pin sized hole in some vac line or something(I'm no mechanic i don't know these things ) but I thought I'd come here to see if anyone can help me out more than that because he seemed very unsure. I'm super paranoid right now because have no warranty on my car anymore and the sound is driving me nuts. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Oh and I did use the search tool and a guy posted a video of some supercharger sound and that isn't it, it doesn't sound like dice in a thick plastic cup.

If needed I can make a video of what it sounds like, only if reallly needed.
Old 04-29-2009, 01:01 AM
I'm too JDM for you

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
sounds like the coupler inside the supercharger. get a vid
Old 04-29-2009, 01:16 AM

Originally Posted by BLAZIN07SS
sounds like the coupler inside the supercharger. get a vid
Interesting. How long can I go with this problem before anything bad happens, and what would it cost to get it fixed? I'll prob make a vid tomorrow.
Old 04-29-2009, 01:20 AM
Banned

just dont take the car into boost

couples aren't expensive
Old 04-29-2009, 01:23 AM

Originally Posted by DomCas