Show & Shine Detailing, washing, waxing, paint care, wax, etc.

Newbie needs help (hatrickstu look)

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2008, 08:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie needs help (hatrickstu look)

alright im a noob to actual full paint care....so i was wondering what would be a good polish and waxes....i would prefer to use products that arent over the counter as i have kind of experimented with them....i want professional level result which i know will come with my experience...i have a few detail shops around here and i have the ability to get products they use....just let me know some good ones....
Old 06-23-2008, 07:34 AM

I'll chime in...

First, your going to need a decent set of pads. Lake Country, Edge 2000, and Meguiar's are all pretty good choices.

For polishes, I'd recommend the following, by brand:

Menzerna
Menzerna PowerGloss
Menzerna Super Intensive Polish
Menzerna Nano Polish (PO106FF)
Meguiars
Meguiars M85/M105
Meguiars M83 Dual Action Cleaner Polish
Meguairs M80 Speed Glaze
Optimum

Optimum Hyper Compound
Optimum Compound
Optimum Polish
Klasse
Klasse AIO
Klasse Sealant Glaze
Also, 3M Ultrafina SE is a really good final finishing polish.

As for waxes, its really whatever works best for you. You can go anywhere from entry level waxes like Meguiars, all the way into some of the thousand dollar Zymol waxes. Best bet is to find something you like, and stick with it. Don't think that you have to spend hundreds to get a great looking wax.

Also, don't worry to much about the product your using. Put more attention to the process. A great detailer can get great results, even out of the cheaper stuff, due to having a sound process of attack. Meanwhile, I've seen people spend hundreds on only the best of the best products, but don't use the correct technique and end up with dissatisfying results.