Show & Shine Detailing, washing, waxing, paint care, wax, etc.

Reducing a scuff mark

Old 04-11-2011, 04:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Reducing a scuff mark

Hi! This is my first post here. I've had my 2008 SS for about six months now and I love it. I am flat out in love with my car.

A couple weeks ago some butthole at work put a iphone-sized scuff on my driver side. Of course they didn't leave a note. I tried to take a picture of it today, although please excuse the yellow dust, the pollen is insane this week and all cars are coated yellow.

The scuff is very textured feeling, rough like it hit the paint. And why is it white? There is no dent whatsoever, so I guess I should be grateful. The thing is the paint was FLAWLESS when I bought the car and I'm an extremely careful driver so this bothers me A LOT.

I'm assuming getting it fixed would cost hundreds of dollars and I'm worried about getting screwed at a body shop and I'm worried about trying one of those scuff kits. Is there anything I can do to make it less annoying or should I just not touch it until I can take it somewhere? I know I'm a chick, but if I can fix a TV with a soldering iron, hopefully I can figure out one of those kits

I don't want to potentially make it worse. I'm a newb at car stuff, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Old 04-11-2011, 04:22 PM

I hate jerks that do that crap! Someone did that to me a few weeks ago but backed into the car and left a crap load of scratches and paint transfer and one nice crack. $1800 worth of damage so I def. feel your pain man.
Old 04-11-2011, 04:23 PM

My theory is they must hate their own cars so much they don't care who or what they bump into. And then I try to park as far away from everyone else as possible and some jerk will purposely park next to me just to prove some kind of point. Ugh.. I hate a lot of people haha.
Old 04-16-2011, 09:29 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Talking