Forced Induction Turbos/Superchargers

Want to Turbo

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2009, 02:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Want to Turbo

Alright in case you don't know I'm a noob, and my friend just got me involved with cars a few months ago. My goal is to turbocharge my car building my own kit and installing it myself. At this point I have a very rough list of parts I'm going to need. What I would like is feedback as to what parts I forgot to add. (A quick side note, I want everything on this list down to the flathead screw.) Also If you have any recommendations as to what parts specifically you would recommend (ex manufacturer, size, ect), I would greatly appreciate it. I will update the list as I find out more and have time. (I am also interested in finding parts through the forum and will be posting a thread in the buy section after I get a more solid list.) Thanks!

List of Materials to Turbo

Intake manifold
Garrett Turbo (haven't determined size want 8 psi on low end of operating range)
Oil Lines
Charge Piping
Intercooler
Injectors
Electronic Boost Controller
Blow off Valve
Transmission Cooler $45
Transfluid lines
Gauge Pod
Wideband Gauge $290
Boost Gauge
Fuel Pressure Gauge
Trans temp alarm?
Gaskets?
3 inch Exhaust
High flow intake?
Flashes PCM and TCM
Old 05-20-2009, 03:17 PM

As much as I want to curse at you for not doing a simple friggin search since their are about 25,000 other 16 year olds posting the same thing...i'll tell you what you need.

First off, assuming a 2.2/2.4, then...

Your intake mani is fine, get your turbo
get your turbo header to fit your turbo
get your turbo downpipe
oil lines
intercooler (optional)
BOV / EBC (optional)
la de da.

Your best bet would be to buy the garrett kit with the GT28RS...which runs for roughly 2k. then tune it yourself and make your changes from there.
Old 05-22-2009, 04:07 PM

Originally Posted by Turbo06Sedan