General Cobalt General Cobalt, Pursuit, and Ion talk. Post specific discussions in the forums below

Exhaust and CAT Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2014, 02:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exhaust and CAT Question

First of all, I apologize if this is in the wrong forum. I'm new here and this is my first post. Also, I am still a huge noob on cars and learning bit by bit.

So I recently got a muffler delete done to discover that my cute little 4-banger is loud. Crazy loud. Enough to rattle windows. It seemed to be a little abnormal. Turns out the previous owner hollowed out the converter and rigged the O2 sensor to not trip the service light. I discovered this after replacing the sensor after I had the stock muffler put back on.

So now the service light is on for the converter and I understand why the thing is so damn loud with no muffler. In a week I'm having a magnaflow muffler put on instead but I'm still debating whether to fix the cat or not.
So my question is this: Can I get a tune to run without the cat or at the very least, get it to quit tripping the service light without rigging the O2 sensor again.
Old 04-04-2014, 03:03 PM

Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts
Originally Posted by TheSuit
First of all, I apologize if this is in the wrong forum. I'm new here and this is my first post. Also, I am still a huge noob on cars and learning bit by bit.

So I recently got a muffler delete done to discover that my cute little 4-banger is loud. Crazy loud. Enough to rattle windows. It seemed to be a little abnormal. Turns out the previous owner hollowed out the converter and rigged the O2 sensor to not trip the service light. I discovered this after replacing the sensor after I had the stock muffler put back on.

So now the service light is on for the converter and I understand why the thing is so damn loud with no muffler. In a week I'm having a magnaflow muffler put on instead but I'm still debating whether to fix the cat or not.