Problems/Service/Maintenance Do you have problems with your new 2.0, 2.2, or 2.4L? What kind of service did you have done?

Fuel Pump Dealer Issue

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2018, 08:36 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Fuel Pump Dealer Issue

Hey all,

So I've got my 06 Cobalt SS/NA up at the dealer right now. They've confirmed my fuel leak is covered under the 12191B Bulletin. Now for the kicker, they are trying to get me to pay for a $150 part to complete the repair. Apparently it's the harness that plugs into the module? Tech says it gets soaked in gas, expands, then won't go back together right, and I will still have a leak. Said this is their guy for the special coverage problem and he's never been able to get it back together right.

I was a mechanic for a number of years, and now do R&D for OEMs, and have never in my life encountered a fuel pump that has a seal for the body harness that goes to the fuel pump. I've dropped a cobalt tank once or twice as well and can't remember this harness, but it was a few years ago. Are they saying it might be develop into an EVAP leak or an actual fuel leak? If anyone could post pictures of the top of the fuel pump module or this connection, I would appreciate it.

The second part. Apparently my fuel tank is on national back order and they don't know when I'll see my car again. I asked if a loaner was possible and they said it's only for warranty repairs. I remember being offered a loaner for the ignition switch fiasco, but not this time? I've got a company car for the time being, but I'm not sure how long this will last, and I need my car since it's my daily.

I've called the GM number you get with the bulletin, and they are escalating it to their seniors, but it will be a few days before they get back to me. Would I be better off just taking my car across town to another dealer? I haven't seen any accounts of people being charged for this part with the repair. Just the bulletin parts and they're done.

Thanks in advance.