L61 Turbo/Super (forced induction) Information Thread - Page 10 - Cobalt SS Network

Go Back  Cobalt SS Network > Engine Technical Discussion > 2.2L L61 Performance Tech
L61 Turbo/Super (forced induction) Information Thread >

L61 Turbo/Super (forced induction) Information Thread

2.2L L61 Performance Tech 16 valve 145 hp EcoTec with 155 lb-ft of torque

L61 Turbo/Super (forced induction) Information Thread

Old 02-21-2008, 10:15 AM
  #226  
New Member
 
Join Date: 02-20-08
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so with the 07s u can run turbo with a piggyback????
FeArLeSsDeSiRe is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 11:43 AM
  #227  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You can run a turbo on any car with a piggyback. But you will have a difficult time tuning it without some kind of ECM flash to start with.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 02:30 PM
  #228  
New Member
 
Join Date: 02-20-08
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
and thats what wre having trouble with??????
FeArLeSsDeSiRe is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 07:21 PM
  #229  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes. The frustration we all have lies in the fact that there are companies out there that can provide us the tools we need, but they as of yet have chosen to focus on other cars. So we are basically out in the cold at the moment.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 09:32 AM
  #230  
New Member
 
Join Date: 02-20-08
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dang is there anyway to run a turbo on my car now w.o buying a kit???
FeArLeSsDeSiRe is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 11:27 AM
  #231  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I don't understand the question.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 01:36 PM
  #232  
Senior Member
 
FacelessKhaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-20-07
Location: Fayett-Evil NC
Posts: 675
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by FeArLeSsDeSiRe View Post
dang is there anyway to run a turbo on my car now w.o buying a kit???
yes...buy the components separately and piece it all together....like i'm doing :-) but you have to know what to buy there is alot involved...

turbo
manifold
oil lines
coolant lines (if the turbo has coolant ports)
intercooler (optional but recommended)
blow off valve or boost bypass valve
plumbing (down pipe, intercooler/intake)
hardware (nuts, bolts, screws, brackets)
wastegate or wastegate actuator (for internally wastegated turbos)
hoses (for the bov/bbv, wastegate)
tuning (piggyback, ecu reflash, full engine management, etc)
patience...

ideally you also want to include

exhaust (to match the turbo, nothing too big as that will rob the powerband, and nothing too small as that would be too restrictive)
synthetic oil swap (highly recommended)

for high boost applications include

engine rebuild (valvetrain, pistons, connecting rods, etc)
intake manifold
throttle body


so basically the most feasible and viable option is go with a kit...they are designed for the average consumer and lay the ground work for bigger projects. Otherwise don't wing it and just by random stuff in hopes that it will work...do research and buy what you need and what is right...or it won't work like it needs to and you could do more damage than good...

hopefully this answers your question...
FacelessKhaos is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 02:14 PM
  #233  
New Member
 
Join Date: 11-15-07
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
correct me if i'm wrong, but doesn't the alpine kit work with the 07 also? and if so link please.
moes is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 10:50 PM
  #234  
Senior Member
 
FacelessKhaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-20-07
Location: Fayett-Evil NC
Posts: 675
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by moes View Post
correct me if i'm wrong, but doesn't the alpine kit work with the 07 also? and if so link please.
yeah sure it will...but only with piggyback tuning...the tuning that comes with it won't work...different ecu and platform altogether... the 07 uses a 32 bit ecu where the 05/06 uses the 16bit ecu...
FacelessKhaos is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 12:09 PM
  #235  
New Member
 
Join Date: 02-20-08
Location: New Albany, Ohio
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yeh i will be piecing the turbo kit together... my question was how can a run a turbo kit now on my car???
FeArLeSsDeSiRe is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 05:07 PM
  #236  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
But the Garrett "Tuner" kit, which is the hardware. Then you would have to get a piggyback set up to manage it, along with some injectors.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 01:30 AM
  #237  
New Member
 
Join Date: 04-22-08
Location: CT
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so this is saying I can supercharge my ls? 2007. or turbo charge whats the difference?

alex

Last edited by bigalpoulos; 04-22-2008 at 01:31 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
bigalpoulos is offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 12:45 PM
  #238  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by bigalpoulos View Post
so this is saying I can supercharge my ls? 2007. or turbo charge whats the difference?

alex
I'm afraid you will have to do a lot more reading. I'm not sure you realize how big of a question you just asked. It can't be answered simply here in a web board post.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 06:42 PM
  #239  
Jn2
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Jn2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-04-07
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,791
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
custom turbo kit ftmfw
Jn2 is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 11:04 AM
  #240  
New Member
 
Join Date: 06-02-07
Location: Brockton, MA
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Alright. Since the guy from Trifecta can tune our auto tranny, is it possible to get the Garrett Alpha kit, use the SCT tune for just the engine, and use his tranny tune?
rycobaltls22 is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 12:24 PM
  #241  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No. If you flash the SCT tune into the engine, it will delete a couple of transmission control items. Just let Trifecta do the complete tune for both parts.

I just updated the first post with the most up to date info that I know of. Let me know if I'm wrong about anything.

Last edited by Halfcent; 06-16-2008 at 12:24 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Halfcent is offline  
Old 06-16-2008, 12:35 PM
  #242  
New Member
 
Join Date: 02-16-08
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Halfcent View Post
I just updated the first post with the most up to date info that I know of. Let me know if I'm wrong about anything.
LS2Edit/Carputing guys support the E37 PCM. For a bunch of old GM engineers their licensing model is a bit sketchy.
wrath is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 07:46 PM
  #243  
Senior Member
 
pacific cobalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-08
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 841
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Halfcent View Post
No. If you flash the SCT tune into the engine, it will delete a couple of transmission control items. Just let Trifecta do the complete tune for both parts.

I just updated the first post with the most up to date info that I know of. Let me know if I'm wrong about anything.
That's similar to what I was going to ask Vince @ Trifecta.
If I get the Garrett Alpha Turbo Kit and re-flash using the supplied SCT Tune will it erase my custom tune that Trifecta made for me?
Vince set my rev Limiter at 7000 rpm's and I would'nt want that to be erased by the SCT Tune if I go turbo
pacific cobalt is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 08:48 PM
  #244  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Your car can only have one tune at a time. If you are saying that you currently have a tune from Trifecta, then that's what you've got. If you reflash the ECM again, then whatever you had before is gone. So, yes, if you flash the ECM with the SCT Garrett tune for their turbo, then whatever is there now will be erased.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 07:56 PM
  #245  
Senior Member
 
pacific cobalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-05-08
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 841
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Halfcent View Post
Your car can only have one tune at a time. If you are saying that you currently have a tune from Trifecta, then that's what you've got. If you reflash the ECM again, then whatever you had before is gone. So, yes, if you flash the ECM with the SCT Garrett tune for their turbo, then whatever is there now will be erased.
Thanks for clearing that up for me Halfcent. Now I'm in the middle of looking for a trustworthy vendor that has the Garrett Alpha Turbo kit. They don't all ship to canada and some use UPS only. I swore that I'd never use UPS after they molested me out of $89 for a $200 purchase twice. Don't want to know how much UPS wants for a $3600 purchase!
Wish that Turbo Tech Racing would sell these. I know I can trust Aaron with over 3 Grand
pacific cobalt is offline  
Old 07-09-2008, 10:03 PM
  #246  
New Member
 
Join Date: 07-09-08
Location: Cherokee, NC
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am new to the forums, as you can probably tell, but anyway i was wondering if anyone knew of a way to get just the SCT tuner and not all of the kit, I am in the process of getting mine custom made by MR2GURU. He is going to get it some how and i was wondering if anyone else has found one for sale. Trying not to get ripped off!!
tonsoffun7 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 10:03 PM
  #247  
New Member
 
Join Date: 04-26-08
Location: Jacksonville, AR
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hey, i've read this entire thread and what it seems like is everyone has done their homework its just the companies haven't cracked the 07-08 computer.. but, this is what it says on their page. i mean it says 05+

"The Garrett® Chevrolet Cobalt Turbo Kit is for the 2.2L Ecotec engine for LS coupe and sedan model years 2005 and above. A GT2860RS "Disco Potato" ball-bearing turbocharger and all of the necessary components are included to complete the installation in your own garage!"


http://www.turbobygarrett.com/turbob...tm#Garrett2.2L

im sure that if it didnt work they would change the discription. i dont know much about the kit or the ecu, but that is what it says.
airpower is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 01:13 PM
  #248  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
To the best of my knowledge, that web page was written before the 07 model came out, and simply wasn't updated when it did. The Garrett kits tune from SCT was written for the E16 ECM. It will not work on the E37.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 01:50 PM
  #249  
New Member
 
Join Date: 04-26-08
Location: Jacksonville, AR
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i see said the blind man.. damn!
airpower is offline  
Old 07-27-2008, 03:16 PM
  #250  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-09-08
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 883
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Joewit View Post
Sunuco has street legal 100 octane
x 2

lol
BlackMachine is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: L61 Turbo/Super (forced induction) Information Thread


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.