Drivetrain Transmission, LSD, Clutch, Driveline, Axles...

(How to) make your clutch stop slipping. Find out inside.

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2007, 02:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
thats how i drive normally, I usually shift at around 4k
Old 01-27-2007, 01:39 AM

Originally Posted by 1gmfanatik
The Jake brake is used for keeping the trailer from jack-knifing during hard last minute stops, no relation to engine brakes. I drove big rigs in the military,
Wrong! I drive for a living. Have for 6 years now. If you use the jake brake during a last min hard stop you are 4 times more likely to jack knife the truck.

The Jake is used to help control speed when decending down a steep grade, and to help slow a heavy loaded rig during normal braking from high way speeds so you dont fry the brakes.

Engine braking is not used in trucks as it has no point, The motor dosnt make enuff braking afect without the Jake to slow the rig. The reason you hear the truck still in gear and hear them going down threw the gears when stopping is do to the fact that it is agenst the law to roll the truck out of gear.

Later

Originally Posted by firestorm
you have it wrong, what your referring to is the spike, or trailer brake. its the lever opposing the turn signal lever. the engine brakes dumps cylinder compression into the exhaust bypass. it is intended to keep a heavy truck under control, braking uses a large amount of air, and if you run outta air and dymanite the brakes, your fucked.
i have a class 1 professionals licence. i know.
A: there is no such thing as a "Class 1" License. Its a Class A, And is you had one you should know that.

B: You never, AND I MEAN NEVER! use the trailer cheach valve to stop a jake Knife. EVER! 9 times out of 10 it will make it ****** and the one time it dosnt it will do nithing as you have alread fucked up to bad to save it.