Electronics, Audio, and Video All Audio, Video, Alarms, and all other electronics

Remote starter help needed!

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2011, 02:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Remote starter help needed!

Hey guys! So im obviously new to the site but ive had my balt for a while now and am big on modding and customizing my ride Im not a complete novice when it come to electronics but this project has finally confused me enough to warrant signing up and being part of the discussions

So heres the thing: I just got a sweet deal on a CT 3471TW prostart remote starter and have been working through the wiring pretty nicely but hit a few snags.

Firstly, it would appear that the cobalt doesnt have a starter wire. After a bit of research I found that the car just waits for the acc wire to show 0v and the ign to show 12v to start. Anyone know how to wire this up to the starter output of the remote starter correctly?

Secondly I was wondering if someone could give me some info on wiring the starter kill output. As I understand it, it immobilizes the vehicle when the system is armed or it has been remote started and connects to the ignition wire but the manual mentions connecting a spdt relay which I could use help wiring and would love to know why the relay is needed.

Lastly there is an "External trigger input" wire. I am not sure at all what this means and welcome any info on it!

tl;dr: Need help with the starter output of the remote start module, need an explanation of the external trigger input and need help wiring the starter kill output.

Thanks in advance guys!

Last edited by The Fot1; 10-20-2011 at 03:01 PM. Reason: Found one of the solutions I was looking for
Old 10-22-2011, 03:00 PM

is the car standard or auto
Old 10-24-2011, 11:53 PM

It's an automatic
Old 10-25-2011, 12:04 PM