General Cobalt General Cobalt, Pursuit, and Ion talk. Post specific discussions in the forums below

Me and the local car tester go at it

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2006, 07:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Me and the local car tester go at it

Like me, most 2.4L SS owners are awaitng some magainzine write ups on the car. I don't need them to validate the car but it'd still be nice to see.

Well the local paper has an autosection--and they tested a Pontiac Pursuit GT. AN exact mechanical close of the 2.4L SS.

Read our e-mail exhange. Its long but you might find it interesting. I made excerpts of the things I disagreeded with.

Dear Mr. Harry Pegg,

I am a regular reader of the Calgary Sun and an avid car enthusiast. I also happen to own a 2.4L Cobalt SS--the twin of the Pursuit you reviewed.

Usually I read your reviews and have to take you word for it because I have no direct experiences with the cars you write about.
But this time I do and your review is what prompted me to write.

While I agree on many points you raise (nice seats, good sound system, nice steering and handles great) I am baffled on why you
imply it is slow, has long shifter throws ect.

1. Long shifter throws:

Have you ever driven a manual trans 01-05 Honda Civic? I guarantee you that the throws are much longer. In addition that shifter is alot taller and gives the impression of driving a semi. My Dad owns an 02 Civic and he had trouble with my "short throw shifter"

2. ...."its not a power train that wants to get out there and get going"

Did you actually step on the gas? Did you redline it in the first 3 gears? I am not sure your taking into account its a 4 cly car.
Myself I find it moves along very well but to extract maximum power you must get the revs up quite high.