The Cobalt DTC thread (merged) - Page 6 - Cobalt SS Network

Go Back  Cobalt SS Network > General > Problems/Service/Maintenance
The Cobalt DTC thread (merged) >

The Cobalt DTC thread (merged)

Problems/Service/Maintenance Do you have problems with your new 2.0, 2.2, or 2.4L? What kind of service did you have done?

The Cobalt DTC thread (merged)

Old 12-29-2008, 03:22 PM
  #126  
Senior Member
 
ViSiONZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 782
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Great thread!
Very useful!
ViSiONZ is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:01 PM
  #127  
New Member
 
Join Date: 11-01-06
Location: ohio
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My check engine light has been on for awhile every month or so out of nowhere it says reduce engine power and 3rd gear floored will make it to 40 and no higher. it feels like im running on 2 cylinders. If i turn it off for a min or take the neg of the battery for a min its fine for another month. Any answers to that one?
Cragar03 is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 02:44 PM
  #128  
I'm old school
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
First off all, stop disconnecting your battery. That is not how you clear a trouble code.

Second, please read the very first post of this thread. It clearly tells you that if you have a CEL, we can do nothing to help you unless you get it scanned and give us the trouble code.

Lastly, engine power reduced is a sign of something really bad. Don't ignore it, and don't floor it in 3rd trying to make it go faster.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 06:33 AM
  #129  
New Member
 
Join Date: 12-11-08
Location: Pomona California
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
one question if i get hard pipe for
my 2009 ss/tc will i void my warrenty??????
need feed back tanx
2009cobaltss27 is offline  
Old 03-07-2009, 09:54 AM
  #130  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: 03-06-06
Location: MO
Posts: 11,666
Thanked 62 Times in 56 Posts
Originally Posted by 2009cobaltss27 View Post
one question if i get hard pipe for
my 2009 ss/tc will i void my warrenty??????
need feed back tanx
What you do in your spare time is your own business.

Hard pipe? come on wtf is that. This is not a warranty discussion thread.
umrdyldo is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 03:48 PM
  #131  
I'm old school
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That is correct, you really haven't posted in the right place.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 10:47 PM
  #132  
New Member
 
Join Date: 05-23-08
Location: edmonton\newfoundland
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
need help

i was comming home today and I lost most the power from my engine and my engine light is on the screen it said engine power reduced. and theres no leaks. do anyone know what is wrong with it
francismoores is offline  
Old 03-23-2009, 02:07 PM
  #133  
Senior Member
 
rockstar014's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-30-08
Location: kentucky
Posts: 2,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mines on bc i broke a part of the thread for the o sensor for the dp
rockstar014 is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 09:14 PM
  #134  
New Member
 
Join Date: 04-12-09
Location: buffalo
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what is the fuel trim memory and how bad is it if you were to erase it. i've unplugged my battery a few time while putting systems and running led's and never seen any problems with anything. Sorry i'm kinda new at all this. i just put a gmpp intake on my 2.2 and it ran fine all last night and today until about an hour ago and the cel went on, the car is still running fine tho
aikin198 is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 01:48 AM
  #135  
I'm old school
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by aikin198 View Post
what is the fuel trim memory and how bad is it if you were to erase it. i've unplugged my battery a few time while putting systems and running led's and never seen any problems with anything. Sorry i'm kinda new at all this. i just put a gmpp intake on my 2.2 and it ran fine all last night and today until about an hour ago and the cel went on, the car is still running fine tho
Resetting the memory via battery disconnect is not bad. The car just has to start over with the fuel trim learning is all. That's one reason why I always tell people to use a scanner to clear MIL's instead of just disconnecting.

As far as your MIL, you should disconnect the battery and let it reset. With the new intake, you want it to relearn the fuel trim. BUT, first make sure that's what the actual problem is by scanning it first!
Halfcent is offline  
Old 05-04-2009, 02:37 PM
  #136  
New Member
 
Join Date: 04-12-09
Location: buffalo
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks halfcent my friend has a scanner and scanned it and thats all it was. i cleared it out and im all set, thanks for letting me know what the fuel trim was im kinda new to all this.
aikin198 is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 05:42 PM
  #137  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
mrgrinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-08-08
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 804
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Since you guys are all talking about CEL. Has anyone put a CAI on their car and had the check engine light come on?

I got a CAI for my 2.4L N/A and everytime i put it on shortly after the CEL comes on "System too Rich" is the code. I can feel the difference, powerwise in my car, but again something is wrong and the CEL is on. I put back on the stock CAI and CEL goes away.

Help Anyone?
mrgrinch is offline  
Old 05-07-2009, 10:13 PM
  #138  
I'm old school
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sir, you desparately need to try using the search feature. The MIL code for using aftermarket intakes is HEAVILY discussed in other places. Like here:

https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/sear...archid=6692673

or the sticky thread on the topic here:

https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/showthread.php?t=12508
Halfcent is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 05:36 PM
  #139  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
mrgrinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-08-08
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 804
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Halfcent View Post
Sir, you desparately need to try using the search feature. The MIL code for using aftermarket intakes is HEAVILY discussed in other places. Like here:

https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/sear...archid=6692673

or the sticky thread on the topic here:

https://www.cobaltss.net/forums/showthread.php?t=12508
thanks. 1st forum didn't work and 2nd told me a lil usefull info. but nothing that helps.
mrgrinch is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 09:51 PM
  #140  
New Member
 
Join Date: 05-16-09
Location: baltimore maryland
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yeah idk what to do i welded a straight pipe on witch i know isnt anything but my engine power redused light came on an went off now my engine light is on an wont go off well im going to chevy tomorrow to get it looked at an ill let everyone know what went wrong or broke
2005REDSS is offline  
Old 06-02-2009, 11:12 PM
  #141  
New Member
 
Join Date: 10-28-08
Location: middletown ny
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
when i put my intake on my check engine light come on then after driveing about 40 miles on highway is says Engine Power Reduced wat this means and my car is runing rich
robby ss is offline  
Old 06-03-2009, 07:00 PM
  #142  
New Member
 
Join Date: 05-16-09
Location: baltimore maryland
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does any body have a clue what a PCM code is. Or what does this do if it pops ona nd the power reduced light comes on.
2005REDSS is offline  
Old 06-04-2009, 12:51 PM
  #143  
I'm old school
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by robby ss View Post
when i put my intake on my check engine light come on then after driveing about 40 miles on highway is says Engine Power Reduced wat this means and my car is runing rich
Again, this thread is not about troubleshooting specific problems. Please try a search about intakes.


Originally Posted by 2005REDSS View Post
Does any body have a clue what a PCM code is. Or what does this do if it pops ona nd the power reduced light comes on.
Now this is a more general question suited to this thread. A PCM is a Powertrain Control Module. Powertrain means engine and transmission. Some Cobalts, like the LSJ's use a PCM.

An ECM is an Engine Control Module. It controls the engine only. A TCM is a Transmission Control Module. As you might figure, it controls the transmision only. All of the Cobalts that use an automatic transmission use both an ECM and TCM together.

The LSJ cars could have used an ECM instead of PCM since a manual transmission doesn't need a control module. But GM used an existing model PCM when they developed the first Cobalt LSJ just because, and didn't use the trans controlling portion of it.

A "Code" is an error sensed by one of these modules and then recorded in a numerical code that you can then read using a tool called a scanner. Some error codes are serious issues, like misfiring, that the module is programmed to reduce the available power in your engine in order to protect it from damaging itself.

Is your Check engine light on? That is called a Malfunction Indicator Lamp, or MIL, and it's telling you that one of your modules has a code recorded. Now go read post number one again.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 06-08-2009, 01:27 AM
  #144  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Dragonsfire12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-01-05
Location: San Antonio,TX
Posts: 5,446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks to this thread I got a headache and worries fixed with ease today..... stupid little fuse
Dragonsfire12345 is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 08:36 PM
  #145  
Member
 
Join Date: 07-06-08
Location: Kelowna, Canada
Posts: 235
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So maybe some of you can be more useful then the dealership was. So recently I got into an accident and since then my power steering died one morning, only to come back later that day and my idle stays at about 1400+ rpm (2.2L btw), and my trunk release doesn't work (key fob or the button inside the car)... anyways, I took it in and all I get is "it could be due to your aftermarket deck or headlights maybe." Im pretty frustrated, but what i did get outta them is that my fuel trim reading is 29% and code number p0171 (lean) and that i have a p0102 (map low frequency). Also my CEL is on and has been for 2 months maybe and is still on after going to the dealership. I haven't had any of these problems except the trunk which I've had for about 5 months. Can someone enlighten me with some knowledge? Thanks
rrauter is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 11:39 PM
  #146  
I'm old school
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You have much bigger problems then this thread is designed to handle. I suggest starting a new thread and describe where the collision damage was. And its not your headlights, sheesh.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 07:21 PM
  #147  
Member
 
Join Date: 07-06-08
Location: Kelowna, Canada
Posts: 235
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks halfcent. yeah i'll try that and see what anyone says.
rrauter is offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 05:53 PM
  #148  
Senior Member
 
SS SCHGD's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-05
Location: Dekalb, IL
Posts: 2,241
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Alright, so I got my oil Changed today and I got my cruise control code cleared. They said the Code is P0833. All then info I can get on it would be apreciated. It does not light up the MIL when it comes on, just doesn't allow me to use the Cruise control. I have a 2006 Cobalt SS/SC with a Stage 2 GM tune.

I bought a OBD II reader but it does not see the code for me to clear it. Can anyone help me find a program for the OBD II reader that will read and delete it, or maybe it can be un programed (or the fault setting can be adjusted) with HP tuners or something?

Thanks.
SS SCHGD is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 02:32 PM
  #149  
Senior Member
 
blaze2712's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-02-08
Location: Westminster, Maryland
Posts: 754
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok so my cel has came on and i tried to scan it with my obd II but when ever i go to like it it will come up with an "err" on the screen. And it wont show any codes. any help would be great.
blaze2712 is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 11:32 AM
  #150  
I'm old school
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would say either your scanner is bad, or something in your ECM's memory is bad. Check the scanner on a couple of other cars to see if it reads normally. If it's fine, get your car looked at.
Halfcent is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: The Cobalt DTC thread (merged)


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.