Show & Shine Detailing, washing, waxing, paint care, wax, etc.

Wet Sanding Paint

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2008, 11:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wet Sanding Paint

I'd like to wet sand my paint to get rid of the factory orange peel, but I've never done it before. I'm that "read up on it, try it, and make it work" type of guy. Here are some links I've found:

1. http://www.ehow.com/how_2182233_wet-sand-paint-car.html
2. http://www.vettebay.com/tips.htm
3. http://www.glossycar.com/

This is what I've gotten out of it:
  1. Wash car with dish soap to remove dirt and wax
  2. Always keep the surface being sanded wet
  3. Start with 1200 grit in a small area with light pressure in even strokes (back and forth from front of car to rear) -- (I'll probably wrap the sandpaper around a sponge to get light, even pressure)
  4. Work your way to 2500 grit
  5. NEVER sand edges/corners
  6. ALWAYS keep sandpaper and body panels as clean as possible
  7. Wash car after done sanding
  8. Use Polishing Compound to bring paint color back
  9. Polish, buff, and wax

Does this sound about right to those of you who have done this and/or do this for a living?

I'll probably start in the middle of my hood and if it doesn't work out right, I'll just pay to get stripes put on.
Old 02-05-2008, 11:30 AM

1200, zomfg. no no no. you will scratch the hell out of it or break thru in record time.
2500...will be fine enuf for flatteneing orange peel. more aggressive paper will take out deeper scratches. try and avoid edges, maybe even masking tape them. go buy a "soft block".
Old 02-05-2008, 11:50 AM

All I need is 2500? Not even 2000? That would save a **** ton of work.

Should I still use the Polishing Compound after the sandpaper with this light a grit?
Old 02-05-2008, 01:56 PM

maybe a light compound, then a topcoat polish. i prefer Farecla.