2.0L LSJ Performance Tech 205hp Supercharged SS tuner version. 200 lb-ft of torque.

I/C Pump Limits

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2009, 09:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I/C Pump Limits

I am currently running the OTT h/e with the "stu mod", but I'm looking for some better results at the track. I've decided to fab basically an ice box in the trunk of the car this way to get the water as cold as possible before it goes back to the intake mani. My question is whether or not you guys think the stock pump is capable of pushing and pulling fluid through about 8-10 feet of 3/4" i.d. heater to hose to get it back and forth to the tank. Thanks for any help you guys can give.
Old 05-26-2009, 09:17 PM

sure why not
Old 05-26-2009, 09:21 PM

That's a lot of extra weight in water that's probably not necessary.
Old 05-26-2009, 10:38 PM

i would think you would get better results with an ice box under the hood than 10 miles of hose from front to back but im no expert just my 2 cents
Old 05-27-2009, 02:11 AM

no not a good idea. ull probably burn the pump out. i dont know the exact specs on the pump but thats alot of distance to travel. my pump started acting up after useing stock and aftermarket h/e at the same time its too much resistance.

also just go buy the coolant resi from autozone for 10 bucks fill a gallon of water sit it in the fridge overnight then filler before the race. (hatrickstu mod) it works like a charm for iat2

ohh and also u would need like 20 feet of heater hose and have to run it through the car too many chances for leaks and kinks.

Last edited by wtpcobaltss; 05-27-2009 at 02:11 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Old 05-27-2009, 01:46 PM

Zoomer swears by this pump, and I think it would push. But honestly, thats overkill.

Ice isn't going to be much colder in the trunk on a hot day at the track that it will be under the hood.
Old 05-27-2009, 04:06 PM
Supporting Vendor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
No issue with pump flow, gains would be questionable.