2.2L L61 Performance Tech 16 valve 145 hp EcoTec with 155 lb-ft of torque

L61 Turbo/Super (forced induction) Information Thread

Old 04-21-2007, 10:50 AM
  #126  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The 2007 model has no initial support. But logically one would think that once they get the first one working, it won't be long before the offer support to newer car too.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 05:22 AM
  #127  
Senior Member
 
xCobalt05x's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-15-06
Location: Pocomoke City, MD
Posts: 3,765
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if anyone would like to know, a buddy of mine was able to tune the 2007 2.2 with hptuners. dont ask me how you can ask him, his name on here is nightriderSS or something like that in the tide water va beach forum
xCobalt05x is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 07:38 PM
  #128  
Senior Member
iTrader: (6)
 
blu3_v1p3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-24-06
Location: Port Hueneme, CA
Posts: 3,677
Liked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Originally Posted by xCobalt05x View Post
if anyone would like to know, a buddy of mine was able to tune the 2007 2.2 with hptuners. dont ask me how you can ask him, his name on here is nightriderSS or something like that in the tide water va beach forum
I know this was a post form back in like april, but his car is an SS/SC and I believe its a 2006, so tuning with HPT is possible for a SS/SC, and thats how his was done...
blu3_v1p3r is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 07:45 PM
  #129  
Senior Member
 
DarkCobalt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-05
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,531
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I dont know much about ecu's so this may seem like a dumb question, but would it be possible to switch from the E16 to the E37?
DarkCobalt13 is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 01:28 AM
  #130  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No. The electrical systems are incompatible.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:32 PM
  #131  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: USA
Posts: 2,476
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What's the status of tuning possibilities with the e16 ecm? Have any of the major companies made any progress?
tonio5555 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 01:40 PM
  #132  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 10-26-06
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 704
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i was wondering how about a 2003-2004 2.2 cavy ecm on the cobalt becouse it can be reflashed to see boost and they are the same engine and i bleive the same wiring. just different colors
yellowshowbalt is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 04:07 PM
  #133  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
We are starting to get a number of the same questions being repeated here people. Please read the thread first before posting.

ECM swaps are not possible.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 04:16 PM
  #134  
Vin
New Member
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: New Brunswick, CANADA
Posts: 148
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Its good people are asking questions. The more questions asked the more people here asking questions the more obvious it should be to that some company is going to make a ton of money by providing tunning capability.
Vin is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 07:54 PM
  #135  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 01-24-06
Location: Warranty Chevrolet, Maryland
Posts: 765
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It is possible to do an LSJ ecm swap however it is extreamly involved. You need a LSJ cylinder head, sensors, coils, wiring harnesses, and of course ECM. With upwards of $2000 for new parts you have a 2.2 thats tuneable, depending on where you get parts. I've sourced an LSJ engine, ECM, and harness for around $800 from a yard.
montecarloman is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 10:46 PM
  #136  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Actually, no, you can't swap the LSJ ECM into the L61 car.

The ECM's don't communicate using the same GM CAN bus system. The car wouldn't be able to talk to the P12 ECM from the LSJ. You would lose your instrument panel, your power steering, your electric throttle, and all kinds of other little stuff.

I'm not making this stuff up. You can NOT swap ECM's in these cars.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 01:52 AM
  #137  
New Member
 
Join Date: 02-13-07
Location: Texas
Posts: 99
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Halfcent View Post
Actually, no, you can't swap the LSJ ECM into the L61 car.

The ECM's don't communicate using the same GM CAN bus system. The car wouldn't be able to talk to the P12 ECM from the LSJ. You would lose your instrument panel, your power steering, your electric throttle, and all kinds of other little stuff.

I'm not making this stuff up. You can NOT swap ECM's in these cars.
What if you dont care about gauges, pwr steering, and have a cable TB, would it be possible then?

Also why do you need the LSJ head? If i just have the sc+intake will it work?
ub3rn00ber is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 10:30 AM
  #138  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you don't care about all that stuff, then you should use an aftermarket Engine manangement device from either AEM or MSD, because it much more tuner friendly. And you don't need the LSJ head.

Just understand that you will no longer have a very useful car. You will have no throttle, no cruise control, no instruments, no power steering. If you are building a race car, great. If not, then good luck.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 11:16 AM
  #139  
New Member
 
Join Date: 02-13-07
Location: Texas
Posts: 99
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Halfcent View Post
If you don't care about all that stuff, then you should use an aftermarket Engine manangement device from either AEM or MSD, because it much more tuner friendly. And you don't need the LSJ head.

Just understand that you will no longer have a very useful car. You will have no throttle, no cruise control, no instruments, no power steering. If you are building a race car, great. If not, then good luck.

The only thinks i want are blinkers, ac, pwr windows, radio. And all of that can be wired to work w/o the ECM. I was thinking about the LSJ ECM because then i could just bolt my S/C on and not have to tune it much.
ub3rn00ber is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 09:06 PM
  #140  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well, that logic wouldn't work. The engine sensors on the LSJ are different then the L61. And the LSJ has COP ignition while the L61 has CSI. They truely are two completely different engines electrically.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 01:14 AM
  #141  
New Member
 
Join Date: 02-13-07
Location: Texas
Posts: 99
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Oh well i guess ill use the aem fule/ignition controler.
ub3rn00ber is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 06:55 PM
  #142  
New Member
 
Join Date: 06-02-07
Location: Brockton, MA
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So, since I don't believe it got answered, would the SCT universal turbo work without tuning? I know I'm asking a lot about boost but once you drive your friend's dad's Supra TT, you want the beastliest turbo you can find.
rycobaltls22 is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 12:49 AM
  #143  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just got word today that Garrett has officially release their full Alpha kit. The web site will reflect the sale starting Monday morning. I will update the first post in this thread, and make a new one announcing it as well.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 02:16 AM
  #144  
Senior Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Mr.N00bLaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-30-07
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,560
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Full Alpha kit? What does this mean to me?
Mr.N00bLaR is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 02:34 AM
  #145  
Senior Member
 
RollermanDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-16-06
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,139
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you have a 2.2L, you now have tuning and a kick ass turbo kit availible for your car
RollermanDan is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 05:47 AM
  #146  
Vin
New Member
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: New Brunswick, CANADA
Posts: 148
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have so many questions to ask.

What will happen with the SAI?
Will the car pass emissions testing with the SAI bypassed on Turbo?
Will the turbo play nicely with the automatic trans?
Can SCT give me a list of tuners in the area? There are to many red necks here to trust =)
How much is shipping to Canada!
Vin is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 11:31 PM
  #147  
New Member
 
Join Date: 01-18-07
Location: Medford Ny
Posts: 175
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hey .. i read so much of this thread and i dont think this was answered yet. if so im sorry.. all im looking for is a yes or no..

will this fit the 2.2 Eco Cavalier?.. by the looks of the pictures it should fit if i relocate the battery to the trunk. but i have to look at that again.

thanks guys. ill look back tom.

EDIT: never mind. the intake is on the OTHER side of the engine. looks like ill have to spend $3400 and get the Hahn Stage II. thanks guys and good luck with all this =)
blck05cavi is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 12:05 PM
  #148  
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
importkiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-05
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,282
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Vin View Post
I have so many questions to ask.

What will happen with the SAI?
Will the car pass emissions testing with the SAI bypassed on Turbo?
Will the turbo play nicely with the automatic trans?
Can SCT give me a list of tuners in the area? There are to many red necks here to trust =)
How much is shipping to Canada!
your intake will be gone, i have no clue if your car will pass emissions but it should as long as you have a catalytic converter still. You can not use it on an auto trany. And I dunno and I dunno.
importkiller is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 01:04 PM
  #149  
I'm old school
Thread Starter
 
Halfcent's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-16-05
Location: Nashville
Posts: 6,901
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My turn!

Originally Posted by Vin View Post
I have so many questions to ask.

What will happen with the SAI?
Will the car pass emissions testing with the SAI bypassed on Turbo?
Will the turbo play nicely with the automatic trans?
Can SCT give me a list of tuners in the area? There are to many red necks here to trust =)
How much is shipping to Canada!
It will be removed and deleted.
That depends on your state. Here in Illinois, they actually run your car on a dyno and measure the emmisions. They also check for codes.
It will work with an automatic IF we get the ability to tune it.
Yes, they can. The SCT web site has a tuner shop locator.
Probably lots. But that depends on which retailer you buy it from.
Halfcent is offline  
Old 07-31-2007, 04:46 PM
  #150  
New Member
 
Join Date: 04-17-06
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 83
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So I was wondering (and yes, I did read the first post and for the most party, every post) if there was any rumor or anything of anybody working on or even thinking about working on tuning for the 05-06 ls. I saw that because of the new computer system in the 07 someone is working on something. But in anybodys minds, do you think there will be tuning by...oh let us say between summer of 08 and summer of 09? Thanks!
chucktheweasel is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: L61 Turbo/Super (forced induction) Information Thread


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.